More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity 3.0 Review
Disney Infinity 3.0 offers the first real taste of new Star Wars gaming content since the franchise was purchased by the Disney Corporation. This begs the question: Is it Han Sololicious? Or Jar Jar Bombad?

Lara Croft GO Review
Everyone’s favorite spunky spelunker goes retro for her new adventure on mobile devices. Does this blast from the past offer enough variety to stand on its own?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Through the Woods Preview
Through the Woods leverages contemporary horror gameplay developments with high-fidelity visuals and Norwegian folklore.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain
Release date: 09/01/15

Destiny: The Taken King
Release date: 09/15/15

Skylanders SuperChargers
Release date: 09/20/15

LEGO Dimensions
Release date: 09/27/15


LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Ivory_Soul
Windows 10 Review for Dummies
By Ivory_Soul
Posted on 08/11/15
After all these years, and growing up with Windows 3.1, I have seen an entire evolution of computers and software. Touch screens and large resolutions were a pipe dream just 15 years ago. Now it's the norm. Going from a Packard Bell (yes, before HP) that couldn't run 3D Ultra Mini...

 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   SmartFeedSmartFeed   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Trying to hook up my old NES to my HDTV, help please

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Game Revolution Forum Index -> Classic Gaming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ShadeTail



Joined: 06 Nov 2006
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 1:18 pm    Post subject: Trying to hook up my old NES to my HDTV, help please Reply with quote

I've tried connecting my NES to my HDTV using RCA cables plugged into the A/V ports. I get sound, but no video. I've triple-checked that the cables are hooked up to the correct ports on both ends, so that isn't the problem. Any ideas about why, and how I can fix this?

My TV is an LG-brand from 2010, if that matters any.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lethean
Big Fat Poo Head Who Ignores GR


Joined: 27 Jan 2001
Posts: 16282

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is the audio portion of the cables going into a receiver or are all 3 plugged in? Also, try changing inputs on the tv in case you haven't yet.
_________________
Optimus-Crime wrote:
it's fucking Canada and who wants to live in the badlands but space rebels, pirates and vikings..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShadeTail



Joined: 06 Nov 2006
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just FYI, the NES only has two cables, because it only produces mono sound.

Anyway, I've tried plugging the cables directly into my TV, and also routing them through my receiver. Both give me the same result: sound without video. I've also tried both of the composite video inputs on my TV, again with the same result.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
De-Ting
Formerly Known as Prince


Joined: 11 Nov 2006
Posts: 8234

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know, my parents always helped me hook it up!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
used44



Joined: 08 Mar 2002
Posts: 21297

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like you know what you're doing. Bad cables maybe?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShadeTail



Joined: 06 Nov 2006
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I can confirm the cable I've been using isn't bad. I've managed to make it work by connecting the RF port on the console with the coaxial cable port on my TV. The image is pretty poor, though, even for a legacy system like the NES. If I could figure out how to make the composite AV port work, it would probably look better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WickedLiquid
In Limbo


Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 7292

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just always used the coaxial cable up untill the PS2 generation when i switched to RCA and then HDMI for PS3.

Just stick with the cable, that's how NES was meant to be played.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
used44



Joined: 08 Mar 2002
Posts: 21297

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe I'm misunderstanding but how does using an rf switch prove the quality of your RCA cable?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShadeTail



Joined: 06 Nov 2006
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I didn't use an RF switch. I got an RCA-to-coaxial plug for $2 from an electronics store, attached that to my TV's cable port, then used the RCA cable to connect that to the RF port on my console.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
used44



Joined: 08 Mar 2002
Posts: 21297

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, got it.

Can you try a different tv? I use the original NES RCA cables to hook mine to my HDTV (which happens to be a LG also) and it works great. It has worked on my other tvs also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
madster111
The Original Pie Lover


Joined: 04 Jun 2006
Posts: 6506

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's very odd that it wouldn't work. It's just an analog picture signal.
Could be a 50/60hz thing, maybe? Although you'd expect the coax to do the same if it was.
_________________
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gxItzjqh4ro

What even
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
drathbone



Joined: 19 May 2011
Posts: 411

PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2014 11:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it's not the cable and it's not the port on the TV, then my guess is it's the RCA video output on the console, especially if the coaxial output is working which tells us the console is at least outputting video from something and not just failing alltogether. Process of elimination.

Also,the video is going to look like chit because your blowing up 256x240 on an HD TV screen. Unless you have a setting to minimize it it's going to look pretty crappy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Game Revolution Forum Index -> Classic Gaming All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum