More Reviews
REVIEWS Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Review
Does Beyond Earth lead humanity to a better world or into a nest of aliens?

Senran Kagura Shinovi Versus Review
I had no idea there was that much silicon in Japan. But it only makes the balance that much more impressive, doesn't it?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Super Smash Bros. (Wii U) Preview
Anyone brawling at home will find plenty to love in the latest console version of Nintendo’s franchise, though amiibo figures lend a layer of ownership not seen before.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Release date: Out Now

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

DAILY MANIFESTO

Best of 2012 Awards Preview: Nominees, Schedule, And Breakdown

Posted on Friday, December 14 @ 11:28:50 Eastern by


Starting next week, all week, GameRevolution will be running our prestigious Best of 2012 Awards, honoring video game excellence during the calendar year. But today, we're giving you a preview of what's to come through our category breakdown, the schedule, and the nominees. 

Don't forget to participate in all of the Community Choice voting for your chance to pick a winner for Community Game of the Year.

Without futher ado, here is our schedule, categories, and nominees for 2012.

Monday, December 17th, 2012 - Genre Day:

Best Action/Adventure Game

  • Mass Effect 3
  • Assassin's Creed III
  • Dishonored
  • Dragon's Dogma
  • Sleeping Dogs

Best RPG

  • Mass Effect 3
  • Persona 4 Golden
  • XCOM: Enemy Unknown
  • The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition
  • Xenoblade Chronicles

Best Shooter

  • Halo 4
  • Spec Ops: The Line
  • Borderlands 2
  • Far Cry 3
  • Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Future Soldier

Best Sports Game

  • Madden NFL 13
  • NBA 2K13
  • FIFA 13
  • SSX
  • MLB 12: The Show

Best Racing Game

  • LittleBigPlanet Karting
  • Mario Kart 7
  • wipEout 20148
  • Forza Horizon
  • Need for Speed: Most Wanted

Best Fighting Game

  • PlayStation All-Stars: Battle Royale
  • Tekken Tag Tournament 2
  • Skullgirls
  • Persona 4 Arena
  • Street Fighter X Tekken


Tuesday, December 18th, 2012 - Miscellaneous Day 1:

Best Mobile Game

  • Rayman Jungle Run
  • The Simpsons: Tapped Out
  • Pocket Planes
  • Angry Birds: Star Wars
  • The World Ends With You

Best Downloadable Game

  • Sound Shapes
  • The Walking Dead
  • Journey
  • Mark of the Ninja
  • The Unfinished Swan

Best Original Game

  • Dishonored
  • Sound Shapes
  • The Unfinished Swan
  • Fez
  • Journey


Wednesday, December 19th, 2012 - Miscellaneous Day 2:

Best Developer

  • BioWare
  • ArenaNet
  • Gearbox Software
  • Arkane Studios
  • 343 Industries

Best Publisher

  • Sony Computer Entertainment of America
  • 2K Games
  • Bethesda
  • Ubisoft
  • Square Enix

Biggest Disappointment

  • Medal of Honor: Warfighter
  • Final Fantasy XIII-2
  • Mass Effect 3
  • Diablo III
  • Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City

Most Surprising Game

  • Sleeping Dogs
  • Spec Ops: The Line
  • Guild Wars 2
  • Rayman Jungle Run
  • Journey

Thursday, December 20th, 2012 - Exclusives Day:

Best 3DS Exclusive

  • Mario Kart 7
  • Final Fantasy Theatrhythm
  • Resident Evil: Revelations
  • Paper Mario Sticker Star
  • Kingdom Hearts 3D: Dream Drop Distance

Best PS Vita Exclusive

  • Escape Plan
  • Uncharted: Golden Abyss
  • Gravity Rush
  • Persona 4 Golden
  • Lumines: Electronic Symphony

Best PC Exclusive

  • Planetside 2
  • Torchlight II
  • Dustforce
  • Tribes: Ascend
  • Guild Wars 2

Best Wii U Exclusive

  • Zombi U
  • Nintendo Land
  • Scribblenauts Unlimited
  • New Super Mario Bros. U
  • Ninja Gaiden III: Razor's Edge

Best Xbox 360 Exclusive

  • Forza Horizon
  • Halo 4
  • Dance Central 3
  • Fez
  • Trials Evolution

Best PS3 Exclusive

  • PlayStation All-Stars: Battle Royale
  • Journey
  • The Unfinished Swan
  • Sports Champions 2
  • Starhawk

Friday, December 21st, 2012 - The Grand Finale:

Community Game of the Year

GameRevolution Game of the Year

Best of 2012 Awards Recap


No, I didn't forget the nominees in the Game of the Year category. We're just keeping them under wraps for now. Let us surprise you.

After that, we wish you a Merry Christmas, happiness, and good health leading into the New Year. Starting on the Christmas Day, we'll be running the following year-end specials:
  • A four-part series of the Biggest News Headlines of 2012
  • Top 25 Wii Games
  • Top 25 Xbox 360 Games
  • Top 25 PS3 Games
  • Top 25 PC Games
We look forward to continuing our efforts in elevating GameRevolution in 2013. We hope you stay and join us for the ride.
Tags:   Best of GR
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.


comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution