More Reviews
REVIEWS Atelier Ayesha Plus: The Alchemi Review
Atelier Ayesha Plus is a new entry in a classic-JRPG series with a pretty paintjob, but does the classic formula still hold up?

Dying Light Review
Developer Techland addresses zombies again in a new light.
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: Out Now

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Kingston HyperX Cloud II Headset Review
Kingston's HyperX Cloud II is a mid-range USB Headset with an onboard sound board. So how does it sound compared to the pros?

Developer Spotlight: Kojima Productions
As we barrel toward this year's Game Developers Conference, the GR crew takes a look at some of the most talented devs in the industry.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

DAILY MANIFESTO

Best of 2012 Awards Preview: Nominees, Schedule, And Breakdown

Posted on Friday, December 14 @ 11:28:50 Eastern by


Starting next week, all week, GameRevolution will be running our prestigious Best of 2012 Awards, honoring video game excellence during the calendar year. But today, we're giving you a preview of what's to come through our category breakdown, the schedule, and the nominees. 

Don't forget to participate in all of the Community Choice voting for your chance to pick a winner for Community Game of the Year.

Without futher ado, here is our schedule, categories, and nominees for 2012.

Monday, December 17th, 2012 - Genre Day:

Best Action/Adventure Game

  • Mass Effect 3
  • Assassin's Creed III
  • Dishonored
  • Dragon's Dogma
  • Sleeping Dogs

Best RPG

  • Mass Effect 3
  • Persona 4 Golden
  • XCOM: Enemy Unknown
  • The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition
  • Xenoblade Chronicles

Best Shooter

  • Halo 4
  • Spec Ops: The Line
  • Borderlands 2
  • Far Cry 3
  • Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Future Soldier

Best Sports Game

  • Madden NFL 13
  • NBA 2K13
  • FIFA 13
  • SSX
  • MLB 12: The Show

Best Racing Game

  • LittleBigPlanet Karting
  • Mario Kart 7
  • wipEout 20148
  • Forza Horizon
  • Need for Speed: Most Wanted

Best Fighting Game

  • PlayStation All-Stars: Battle Royale
  • Tekken Tag Tournament 2
  • Skullgirls
  • Persona 4 Arena
  • Street Fighter X Tekken


Tuesday, December 18th, 2012 - Miscellaneous Day 1:

Best Mobile Game

  • Rayman Jungle Run
  • The Simpsons: Tapped Out
  • Pocket Planes
  • Angry Birds: Star Wars
  • The World Ends With You

Best Downloadable Game

  • Sound Shapes
  • The Walking Dead
  • Journey
  • Mark of the Ninja
  • The Unfinished Swan

Best Original Game

  • Dishonored
  • Sound Shapes
  • The Unfinished Swan
  • Fez
  • Journey


Wednesday, December 19th, 2012 - Miscellaneous Day 2:

Best Developer

  • BioWare
  • ArenaNet
  • Gearbox Software
  • Arkane Studios
  • 343 Industries

Best Publisher

  • Sony Computer Entertainment of America
  • 2K Games
  • Bethesda
  • Ubisoft
  • Square Enix

Biggest Disappointment

  • Medal of Honor: Warfighter
  • Final Fantasy XIII-2
  • Mass Effect 3
  • Diablo III
  • Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City

Most Surprising Game

  • Sleeping Dogs
  • Spec Ops: The Line
  • Guild Wars 2
  • Rayman Jungle Run
  • Journey

Thursday, December 20th, 2012 - Exclusives Day:

Best 3DS Exclusive

  • Mario Kart 7
  • Final Fantasy Theatrhythm
  • Resident Evil: Revelations
  • Paper Mario Sticker Star
  • Kingdom Hearts 3D: Dream Drop Distance

Best PS Vita Exclusive

  • Escape Plan
  • Uncharted: Golden Abyss
  • Gravity Rush
  • Persona 4 Golden
  • Lumines: Electronic Symphony

Best PC Exclusive

  • Planetside 2
  • Torchlight II
  • Dustforce
  • Tribes: Ascend
  • Guild Wars 2

Best Wii U Exclusive

  • Zombi U
  • Nintendo Land
  • Scribblenauts Unlimited
  • New Super Mario Bros. U
  • Ninja Gaiden III: Razor's Edge

Best Xbox 360 Exclusive

  • Forza Horizon
  • Halo 4
  • Dance Central 3
  • Fez
  • Trials Evolution

Best PS3 Exclusive

  • PlayStation All-Stars: Battle Royale
  • Journey
  • The Unfinished Swan
  • Sports Champions 2
  • Starhawk

Friday, December 21st, 2012 - The Grand Finale:

Community Game of the Year

GameRevolution Game of the Year

Best of 2012 Awards Recap


No, I didn't forget the nominees in the Game of the Year category. We're just keeping them under wraps for now. Let us surprise you.

After that, we wish you a Merry Christmas, happiness, and good health leading into the New Year. Starting on the Christmas Day, we'll be running the following year-end specials:
  • A four-part series of the Biggest News Headlines of 2012
  • Top 25 Wii Games
  • Top 25 Xbox 360 Games
  • Top 25 PS3 Games
  • Top 25 PC Games
We look forward to continuing our efforts in elevating GameRevolution in 2013. We hope you stay and join us for the ride.
Tags:   Best of GR
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.


comments powered by Disqus