More Reviews
REVIEWS Kinect Sports Rivals Review
It's been far too long since Microsoft's Xbox consoles had a Kinect-only title. Is the wait worth it?

LEGO The Hobbit Review
Lego the Hobbit isn't just your standard Lego game. It's a junior RPG built to charm and ensorcel you, brick by brick.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Hitman GO Preview
Murder at the swipe of a finger.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES LEGO The Hobbit
Release date: Out Now

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows
Release date: Out Now

Trials Fusion
Release date: 04/16/14

The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Release date: 04/29/14


LATEST FEATURES Ouya's Best Games Coming to the Platform
The Kickstarter console is slowly establishing itself with a couple of creative gems on the way.

Tips for The Elder Scrolls Online: The Vestige's Guide
Just a handful of ways to keep yourself from dying.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP danielrbischoff
Peace in the Era of Call of Duty
By danielrbischoff
Posted on 04/15/14
In a world dominated by violent media, Americans are no more eager to go to war than they were in the 1980s or the 1960s or the 1940s. Hasn't it always been someone else's problem? The overwhelming majority would rather go on thinking it had nothing to do with them and there...

DAILY MANIFESTO

Best of 2012 Awards Preview: Nominees, Schedule, And Breakdown

Posted on Friday, December 14 @ 11:28:50 Eastern by


Starting next week, all week, GameRevolution will be running our prestigious Best of 2012 Awards, honoring video game excellence during the calendar year. But today, we're giving you a preview of what's to come through our category breakdown, the schedule, and the nominees. 

Don't forget to participate in all of the Community Choice voting for your chance to pick a winner for Community Game of the Year.

Without futher ado, here is our schedule, categories, and nominees for 2012.

Monday, December 17th, 2012 - Genre Day:

Best Action/Adventure Game

  • Mass Effect 3
  • Assassin's Creed III
  • Dishonored
  • Dragon's Dogma
  • Sleeping Dogs

Best RPG

  • Mass Effect 3
  • Persona 4 Golden
  • XCOM: Enemy Unknown
  • The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition
  • Xenoblade Chronicles

Best Shooter

  • Halo 4
  • Spec Ops: The Line
  • Borderlands 2
  • Far Cry 3
  • Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Future Soldier

Best Sports Game

  • Madden NFL 13
  • NBA 2K13
  • FIFA 13
  • SSX
  • MLB 12: The Show

Best Racing Game

  • LittleBigPlanet Karting
  • Mario Kart 7
  • wipEout 20148
  • Forza Horizon
  • Need for Speed: Most Wanted

Best Fighting Game

  • PlayStation All-Stars: Battle Royale
  • Tekken Tag Tournament 2
  • Skullgirls
  • Persona 4 Arena
  • Street Fighter X Tekken


Tuesday, December 18th, 2012 - Miscellaneous Day 1:

Best Mobile Game

  • Rayman Jungle Run
  • The Simpsons: Tapped Out
  • Pocket Planes
  • Angry Birds: Star Wars
  • The World Ends With You

Best Downloadable Game

  • Sound Shapes
  • The Walking Dead
  • Journey
  • Mark of the Ninja
  • The Unfinished Swan

Best Original Game

  • Dishonored
  • Sound Shapes
  • The Unfinished Swan
  • Fez
  • Journey


Wednesday, December 19th, 2012 - Miscellaneous Day 2:

Best Developer

  • BioWare
  • ArenaNet
  • Gearbox Software
  • Arkane Studios
  • 343 Industries

Best Publisher

  • Sony Computer Entertainment of America
  • 2K Games
  • Bethesda
  • Ubisoft
  • Square Enix

Biggest Disappointment

  • Medal of Honor: Warfighter
  • Final Fantasy XIII-2
  • Mass Effect 3
  • Diablo III
  • Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City

Most Surprising Game

  • Sleeping Dogs
  • Spec Ops: The Line
  • Guild Wars 2
  • Rayman Jungle Run
  • Journey

Thursday, December 20th, 2012 - Exclusives Day:

Best 3DS Exclusive

  • Mario Kart 7
  • Final Fantasy Theatrhythm
  • Resident Evil: Revelations
  • Paper Mario Sticker Star
  • Kingdom Hearts 3D: Dream Drop Distance

Best PS Vita Exclusive

  • Escape Plan
  • Uncharted: Golden Abyss
  • Gravity Rush
  • Persona 4 Golden
  • Lumines: Electronic Symphony

Best PC Exclusive

  • Planetside 2
  • Torchlight II
  • Dustforce
  • Tribes: Ascend
  • Guild Wars 2

Best Wii U Exclusive

  • Zombi U
  • Nintendo Land
  • Scribblenauts Unlimited
  • New Super Mario Bros. U
  • Ninja Gaiden III: Razor's Edge

Best Xbox 360 Exclusive

  • Forza Horizon
  • Halo 4
  • Dance Central 3
  • Fez
  • Trials Evolution

Best PS3 Exclusive

  • PlayStation All-Stars: Battle Royale
  • Journey
  • The Unfinished Swan
  • Sports Champions 2
  • Starhawk

Friday, December 21st, 2012 - The Grand Finale:

Community Game of the Year

GameRevolution Game of the Year

Best of 2012 Awards Recap


No, I didn't forget the nominees in the Game of the Year category. We're just keeping them under wraps for now. Let us surprise you.

After that, we wish you a Merry Christmas, happiness, and good health leading into the New Year. Starting on the Christmas Day, we'll be running the following year-end specials:
  • A four-part series of the Biggest News Headlines of 2012
  • Top 25 Wii Games
  • Top 25 Xbox 360 Games
  • Top 25 PS3 Games
  • Top 25 PC Games
We look forward to continuing our efforts in elevating GameRevolution in 2013. We hope you stay and join us for the ride.
Tags:   Best of GR


comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution