More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

DAILY MANIFESTO

Mobile Review: World War Z

Posted on Thursday, May 30 @ 19:00:00 Eastern by

Title: World War Z
Developer: Phosphor Games Studio
Version: 1.0
Date of Release: May 30th, 2013
iTunes Link - $4.99

Nothing is scarier than a licensed video game, but several major properties have made the switch from console to mobile, ultimately defeating a lot of the disappointment you might feel after a $60 mistake. World War Z is the latest, giving players control of Doug, a man on a mission to reunite with his son.

There's just one problem with that: Doug is in America and his son is in Japan. You get to defend Doug with firearms and crowbars, help him scavenge for clues, food, and supplies, and generally try not to get bit. Even in the first few minutes, Phosphor Games flex their Unreal engine muscle.

Textures are prettier than a clean shot through zombified brains. Environments are run down in typical post-apacolyptic fashion, but overall the pace and variety make World War Z more fun to play than it should be. I played with the easiest control setting and found it matched the tension and mechanics perfectly.

You can play with harder controls, but the default has you tapping on the ground to move from place to place, and using one finger to slide your reticle over zombies who intend to do you harm. It makes for more of a shooting gallery and less for FPS gameplay, which is preferrable on smaller devices where my gigantic thumbs block a lot of the screen when engaged with digital controls.

You can upgrade your weapons, armor, and even your crowbar as you progress. In order to upgrade immediately, you have to pay for virtual currency, but dedicating time to World War Z will eventually net you the rewards available for cash.

I would pay to skip every hand-to-hand sequence if it were possible. Some enemies take too many whacks to the noggin to kill and you might wonder why all the zombies on earth seem to be fraternal twins of one another, but for $5 this is a passable and engaging movie tie-in. When's the last time you could say that about any licensed game?

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.


comments powered by Disqus