More Reviews
REVIEWS Pixel Galaxy Review
Pixel Galaxy is a bullet hell shooter with no active shooting. Let's see if the unique concept results in a successful game.

Disgaea 5: Alliance of Vengeance Review
Put your favorite pizza delivery joint on speed-dial and say goodbye to the sun, because this game will suck up all your free time for several months.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Total War: Warhammer Preview
Total War: Warhammer is exactly what you expect, so if you like Creative Assembly's games or Games Workshop's sprawling setting, there's a lot to be excited about.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Dengeki Bunko: Fighting Climax
Release date: 10/06/15

Just Dance 2016
Release date: 10/20/15

Just Dance: Disney Party 2
Release date: 10/20/15

Adventure Time: Finn and Jake Investigations
Release date: 11/01/15

Read More Member Blogs
Windows 10 Review for Dummies
By Ivory_Soul
Posted on 08/11/15
After all these years, and growing up with Windows 3.1, I have seen an entire evolution of computers and software. Touch screens and large resolutions were a pipe dream just 15 years ago. Now it's the norm. Going from a Packard Bell (yes, before HP) that couldn't run 3D Ultra Mini...


Polygon Slammed For 7.5 Review For The Last of Us

Posted on Thursday, June 6 @ 10:40:07 PST by

This is an article that's touchy all over the place.

Polygon's Philip Kollar revealed his review for The Last of Us on June 5, 2013 at 10:00am and gave the game a 7.5/10, a title that has received mountains of 9s and 10s. Since then, the author and the site itself has received criticism by commenters on N4G and on the site itself.

The general criticism and accusation is that the score is too biased and too opinionated, as Polygon (though by a different writer) gave Remember Me an 8/10 and Resident Evil: Revelations the same score of 7.5/10. Jeff Rubenstein has blatantly called out the review on Twitter: "Per Polygon, TLOU is the worst reviewed game of month thus far. Right."

Though they agree that Philip is entitled to his opinion (as much as I think reviewers should be held to their "arguments" rather than their "opinions"), the majority of commenters believe that that Philip is just being contrarian for the sake of hits. Some say that the review mentions plenty of positives and not enough negatives to justify the low score. On the face value of the review, I agree.

The trouble, though, is that the game isn't even out yet. I haven't played the game either, so apart from the words in the review itself, the only "evidence" we have is a relative comparison of this review to the majority of other reviews. It might even turn out that I agree with him: Who knows? My only hope is that if I were to write a review for it, that it would be more justified so as not to be thoroughly lambasted.
Do you think Polygon's review for The Last of Us is too low?
Related Games:   The Last of Us

comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution