More Reviews
REVIEWS Life Is Strange: Episode 1 - Chy Review
Oh no, it's a sensitive adventure game featuring a teenage female protagonist. Will everyone freak out?!

Grim Fandango Remastered Review
This little light of mine. I'm gonna let it shine. Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine!
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Developer Spotlight: Dontnod Entertainment
The developer for Remember Me is quietly becoming a force on the indie scene.

PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

DAILY MANIFESTO

Polygon Slammed For 7.5 Review For The Last of Us

Posted on Thursday, June 6 @ 10:40:07 Eastern by


This is an article that's touchy all over the place.

Polygon's Philip Kollar revealed his review for The Last of Us on June 5, 2013 at 10:00am and gave the game a 7.5/10, a title that has received mountains of 9s and 10s. Since then, the author and the site itself has received criticism by commenters on N4G and on the site itself.

The general criticism and accusation is that the score is too biased and too opinionated, as Polygon (though by a different writer) gave Remember Me an 8/10 and Resident Evil: Revelations the same score of 7.5/10. Jeff Rubenstein has blatantly called out the review on Twitter: "Per Polygon, TLOU is the worst reviewed game of month thus far. Right."

Though they agree that Philip is entitled to his opinion (as much as I think reviewers should be held to their "arguments" rather than their "opinions"), the majority of commenters believe that that Philip is just being contrarian for the sake of hits. Some say that the review mentions plenty of positives and not enough negatives to justify the low score. On the face value of the review, I agree.

The trouble, though, is that the game isn't even out yet. I haven't played the game either, so apart from the words in the review itself, the only "evidence" we have is a relative comparison of this review to the majority of other reviews. It might even turn out that I agree with him: Who knows? My only hope is that if I were to write a review for it, that it would be more justified so as not to be thoroughly lambasted.
 
Do you think Polygon's review for The Last of Us is too low?
Related Games:   The Last of Us
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.


comments powered by Disqus