More Reviews
REVIEWS LEGO Batman 3: Beyond Gotham Review
Batman and friends team up for another Lego adventure.

This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: Out Now

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES Black Friday 2014 Video Game Deals Buyer's Guide
Looking to score the most bang for your buck the day after Thanksgiving? Well look no further! Our Black Friday guide is just the tool you need.

With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

DAILY MANIFESTO

Polygon Slammed For 7.5 Review For The Last of Us

Posted on Thursday, June 6 @ 10:40:07 Eastern by


This is an article that's touchy all over the place.

Polygon's Philip Kollar revealed his review for The Last of Us on June 5, 2013 at 10:00am and gave the game a 7.5/10, a title that has received mountains of 9s and 10s. Since then, the author and the site itself has received criticism by commenters on N4G and on the site itself.

The general criticism and accusation is that the score is too biased and too opinionated, as Polygon (though by a different writer) gave Remember Me an 8/10 and Resident Evil: Revelations the same score of 7.5/10. Jeff Rubenstein has blatantly called out the review on Twitter: "Per Polygon, TLOU is the worst reviewed game of month thus far. Right."

Though they agree that Philip is entitled to his opinion (as much as I think reviewers should be held to their "arguments" rather than their "opinions"), the majority of commenters believe that that Philip is just being contrarian for the sake of hits. Some say that the review mentions plenty of positives and not enough negatives to justify the low score. On the face value of the review, I agree.

The trouble, though, is that the game isn't even out yet. I haven't played the game either, so apart from the words in the review itself, the only "evidence" we have is a relative comparison of this review to the majority of other reviews. It might even turn out that I agree with him: Who knows? My only hope is that if I were to write a review for it, that it would be more justified so as not to be thoroughly lambasted.
 
Do you think Polygon's review for The Last of Us is too low?
Related Games:   The Last of Us
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.


comments powered by Disqus