More Reviews
REVIEWS Firefall Review
Repetitive gameplay makes this fall a little boring.

The Walking Dead: Season Two Review
At this point, you’re not coming back for the zombies. Let’s get down to business.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions Preview
Put up some movie glasses, because Geometry Wars is entering the third dimension.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Destiny
Release date: 09/09/14

FIFA 15
Release date: 09/23/14

Ar Nosurge: Ode to an Unborn Star
Release date: 09/23/14

Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14


LATEST FEATURES And I Was All "Hell Yeah I'll Play a New Dreamcast Game"
I just played a Dreamcast game that was released in... wait, 2014?

A Comprehensive Guide to Dealing with Controversy in the Video Game Industry
Need help wading through the latest misogyny/homophobia/racism/corruption debate in the gaming industry? Paul Tamburro’s here to help!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP samsmith614 Since game design is a business, I decided to see what's really selling well for the PS4. I did this search a week ago, and at the time, out of the top 20 bestsellers on Amazon 10 had not even been released yet. By now some have been released. But others still have not. And yet others...

DAILY MANIFESTO

Polygon Slammed For 7.5 Review For The Last of Us

Posted on Thursday, June 6 @ 10:40:07 Eastern by


This is an article that's touchy all over the place.

Polygon's Philip Kollar revealed his review for The Last of Us on June 5, 2013 at 10:00am and gave the game a 7.5/10, a title that has received mountains of 9s and 10s. Since then, the author and the site itself has received criticism by commenters on N4G and on the site itself.

The general criticism and accusation is that the score is too biased and too opinionated, as Polygon (though by a different writer) gave Remember Me an 8/10 and Resident Evil: Revelations the same score of 7.5/10. Jeff Rubenstein has blatantly called out the review on Twitter: "Per Polygon, TLOU is the worst reviewed game of month thus far. Right."

Though they agree that Philip is entitled to his opinion (as much as I think reviewers should be held to their "arguments" rather than their "opinions"), the majority of commenters believe that that Philip is just being contrarian for the sake of hits. Some say that the review mentions plenty of positives and not enough negatives to justify the low score. On the face value of the review, I agree.

The trouble, though, is that the game isn't even out yet. I haven't played the game either, so apart from the words in the review itself, the only "evidence" we have is a relative comparison of this review to the majority of other reviews. It might even turn out that I agree with him: Who knows? My only hope is that if I were to write a review for it, that it would be more justified so as not to be thoroughly lambasted.
 
Do you think Polygon's review for The Last of Us is too low?
Related Games:   The Last of Us


comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution