More Reviews
REVIEWS Wayward Manor Review
Not even the power of Neil Gaiman and The Odd Gentlemen could save this game from a fate worse than death: a terrible score.

ONE PIECE Unlimited World Red Review
"Unlimited World Red"? More like "Sorta Limited Town and Extended Areas... Red. And Blue. And Some Yellow."
More Previews
PREVIEWS Pillars of Eternity Preview
For Obsidian's crowdfunded love letter to Infinity Engine games like Icewind Dale and Baldur's Gate, I was impressed by its willingness to pull back the curtain and let me see the machinery behind it.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Sacred 3
Release date: 08/05/14

CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14


LATEST FEATURES How Bioware Creates Romances
Bioware's games have romances where you might save the world, on the side of course.

We Absolutely Should Be Upset With Club Nintendo's Latest Elite Rewards
Surveys out the wazoo and I get a code for Dr. Luigi?
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Kakulukia
Why Sunset Overdrive Can Go Suck A Lemon
By Kakulukia
Posted on 07/14/14
Yesterday, while cleaning up my media center, I found my copy of Ratchet & Clank: Into The Nexus, which I bought sometime before Christmas last year. I had been pretty excited about this game pre-release, what with it being the first "traditional", albeit shorter than usual,...

DAILY MANIFESTO

Polygon Slammed For 7.5 Review For The Last of Us

Posted on Thursday, June 6 @ 10:40:07 Eastern by


This is an article that's touchy all over the place.

Polygon's Philip Kollar revealed his review for The Last of Us on June 5, 2013 at 10:00am and gave the game a 7.5/10, a title that has received mountains of 9s and 10s. Since then, the author and the site itself has received criticism by commenters on N4G and on the site itself.

The general criticism and accusation is that the score is too biased and too opinionated, as Polygon (though by a different writer) gave Remember Me an 8/10 and Resident Evil: Revelations the same score of 7.5/10. Jeff Rubenstein has blatantly called out the review on Twitter: "Per Polygon, TLOU is the worst reviewed game of month thus far. Right."

Though they agree that Philip is entitled to his opinion (as much as I think reviewers should be held to their "arguments" rather than their "opinions"), the majority of commenters believe that that Philip is just being contrarian for the sake of hits. Some say that the review mentions plenty of positives and not enough negatives to justify the low score. On the face value of the review, I agree.

The trouble, though, is that the game isn't even out yet. I haven't played the game either, so apart from the words in the review itself, the only "evidence" we have is a relative comparison of this review to the majority of other reviews. It might even turn out that I agree with him: Who knows? My only hope is that if I were to write a review for it, that it would be more justified so as not to be thoroughly lambasted.
 
Do you think Polygon's review for The Last of Us is too low?
Related Games:   The Last of Us


comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution