More Reviews
REVIEWS Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Review
Does Beyond Earth lead humanity to a better world or into a nest of aliens?

Senran Kagura Shinovi Versus Review
I had no idea there was that much silicon in Japan. But it only makes the balance that much more impressive, doesn't it?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Super Smash Bros. (Wii U) Preview
Anyone brawling at home will find plenty to love in the latest console version of Nintendo’s franchise, though amiibo figures lend a layer of ownership not seen before.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Assassin's Creed Rogue
Release date: 11/11/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

Dead or Alive: Dimensions Member Review for the 3DS

By:
Ivory_Soul
12/23/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Fighting 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Tecmo Koei America 
DEVELOPER Tecmo 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Blood, Mild Language, Partial Nudity, Suggestive Themes, Use of Alcohol, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

The Good: Smooth and responsive controls, using the bottom screen for a combo list makes playing easier, 3D effects are fun, lots of modes, utilizes Street and SpotPass very well, playing online is a blast, lots of things to unlock

The Bad: Fight system is convoluted, story mode is pretty average, could have used more fighters and stages

I have never been a huge fan of Dead or Alive outside the characters. The fighting system is convoluted, over complicated, and not ever explained very well. Dimensions breaks this barrier with a great Chronicle story mode that introduces these complicated techniques little by little so you can absorb it and it works great. The story mode is entertaining but nothing to write home about. You play as various characters trying to stop Alpha-152 which is Kasumi's evil clone. DOATEC is trying to use this to destroy the ninja clan Mugen Tenshin.

The fighting system actually is complicated but after the story mode you can actually use it. There are the usual combos of kick and punches, but you can juggle opponents and stun them in a critical state. You can throw and hold opponents while holding is kind of a counter attack you can actually counter a counter in this game. If someone counters your attack with a hold you can counter back or get out of the hold. Understanding how to do this take some getting used to but it adds some strategy to online fights. You can also do a super stun which is called OHing an opponent and this means they can't counter. There are also special stances that the characters go into which can be used to strategically add extra combos without the opponent knowing. You can also delay attacks in combos to kind of trick the other player in thinking your done so they stop blocking.

The fight system is fluid and smooth with great animations and controls, but my favorite part is that the combos are listed on the bottom screen so you can tap them or just use them as a quick combo list. This is really handy and actually makes playing the game more enjoyable so you aren't constantly pausing the game to remember a combo. On top of this you can now tag team which is fun and adds some great combos into the fray. I liked the extra modes such as tag team, and infinite mode, and of course the showcase mode where you unlock figurines to take pictures in 3D.

There are a lot of costumes to unlock to make the females look more sexy or the males look more cool and StreetPass and SpotPass are wonderfully integrated into the system. I'll have my 3DS in my pocket all day when going out then come home and have a few challenger ready to fight online that I passed when going out. I might even drive by a few SpotPass areas and come back with some downloaded costumes. Dimensions really utilizes these features and I have a blast using them.

With all that said the 3D effects are amazing and really show off the systems features in this way, but overall the graphics are smooth and crisp and look very detailed. I highly recommend Dimensions because it's the best fighting game on the system right now.


More information about Dead or Alive: Dimensions
 
B+ Revolution report card
Views: 498 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution