More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Sydney 2000 Member Review for the DreamCast

LinksOcarina By:
LinksOcarina
11/11/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 00 
PUBLISHER Eidos 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

I figure that I might as well start a new review seires. My 360 Launch extravaganza (3 games in total) as well as my Final Fantasy Series were fun to do, and I wish I had more time to write out my usual, detailed reviews, but the following reviews are all from memory.

It is time to honor the classics from the Dreamcast....well, some of them at least. Jet Grind Radio is one, and while Sydney 2000 is far from a good game, it does serve the purpose of being a fun diversion for a few hours when your bored and don't feel like eating or playing guitar hero.

Like most of those old olympic games, you pick your country and duke it out in 12 different summer olympic events, ranging from track and field to diving to skeet shooting. The variety of events is pretty decent in this game, although after you master them, there is really little point to play anymore.

What gives the game longevity is the fact that you can go through the trials of practice and practice by preforming in various mini-games, giving you the illusion of training for the olympic events. And it actually shows up when you participate. In the 100 meter dash, for example, you run faster if you went through training, which will help in getting through the first few heats to the medal round. This type of gameplay does give you a goal, despite how minor it is, to shoot for.

The best events by the way are the skeet shooting and the track and field events. The track and field events are all simple, press an alternating sequence of buttons and mash your way through the competition. While old and archaic, it still has a charm, alibiet a small charm, to it's mechanics. Skeet shooting is perhaps the best event in the game. You can shoot the clay pots as they come from the sides, and it turns into a version of Duck Hunt in the end. The detection on the gun makes it the most accurate mini-game.

The worst games, however, are the button-sequence games; which include diving and swimming. Also, the weight lifting mini-game, while the same as track and field, is too strenuous to preform. They made it way to hard.

Graphically, the game is ok, considering this is 2000. The polygon count is kind of low, but it has it where it counts, on the nameless athletes and occasionally their equipment. Nothing pretty, but nothing bad either. The sound in the game is pretty bad though. The announcers are bad, the music is painful to listen to (except the country anthems, which are a nice treat. Ever hear the anthem of Singapore?) Otherwise, the game could be silent, which thankfully it mostly is.

Sydney 2000 is the typical bargin bin game, and should only be picked up in one. I myself bought it for $5.00 for the dreamcast in 2002, becuase I was bored and thought, why the hell not. There are worse games out there at the very least.

Final Score- C

More information about Sydney 2000
 
C Revolution report card
Views: 1413 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus