More Reviews
REVIEWS CounterSpy Review
Your operative is tasked with infiltrating both sides of nuclear war. Can CounterSpy finish the mission in time for your PSN credit?

Akiba's Trip Review
Here's a game where you must trip vampires of their clothes. Oh goodness...
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: Out Now

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: Out Now

Madden NFL 15
Release date: 08/26/14

Destiny
Release date: 09/09/14


LATEST FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: This War of Mine, Gigantic

The Best Upcoming Racing Games of 2014
You've probably only heard of Sony's exclusive Driveclub and Microsoft's exclusive Forza Horizon 2, but don't forget about a few others.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP KevinS
RIP Robin Williams (1951-2014)
By KevinS
Posted on 08/14/14
Robin Williams (1951-2014) Robin Williams was an absolutely exceptional comedian, talented actor, and holder of a special place in video game history: He was the first really famous gamer I know of. I’m sure there were others, but they kept a comparatively low profile, unlike one...

Contra 4 Member Review for the DS

By:
dance_dude
04/20/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Platformer 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Konami 
DEVELOPER WayForward 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Blood and Gore, Fantasy Violence, Language

What do these ratings mean?

                                               Dance Dude's Diary ( D.D.D )

                                                        November 13, 2007

 Yes!! I got Contra 4 on the first day!! This is going to be soooooooo rad man!!! I love contra!! It's a man's game!! Easy games are for wussies!! Here I come DS!!!

                                                       November 14, 2007

 Apparently, it seems I can't get past level 1 due to, uh, technically difficulties. Um, is this game broke or something? Uh.......I'm playing on easy, and I can barely get halfway threw the level. Well, this is a man's game!! I won't punk out!! No game is too hard for me!!!! YEEEEEEEEAAAAHHH!! BEANS AND RICE!!!!!!!!

                                                         November 15, 2007 

Today, I had to go up to the repair store, so they could place a new X and power button on my DS. See, what had happened was, I thought I saw a ghost, and, hehe....funny thing, uh, I was playing my DS at the same time, and, well....since that's all I had, instincts told me to throw it, and, um, it hit the wall. Hard. Like this game. Coincidence I was playing this at the same time, huh? hehe....Well, let me see if my DS is working, cya diary.                                                         November 16, 2007

 I HATE CONTRA!!!!! THIS IS BULLSH!T!!!! IT WON'T LET ME WIN!!!! I HATE THE WORLD, AND ALL ITS INHABITANTS!!! I HATE EARTH GODD@MNIT!!!! WHO'S SMARTASS IDEA WAS TO MAKE TIHS GAME GODD@MN IMPOSSIBLE!!! OMG!!!  IF I EVER FIND A MEMBER OF THE TEAM WHO HELPED MAKE THIS GAME, SO HELP ME GOD, IM GOING TO MURDER SOMEBODY!!! OMFG!!! GIVE ME A FORK!!!

                                                         November 17, 2007

 God *sniff* If you can hear me, it's me again. Please let me get to level 2. *Sniff Sniff* Amen.

                                                          November 18, 2007

                                                                    NO ENTRY

                                                          Novemeber 19, 2007

                                 Contra 4 is the worst game to ever see the light of day.

                                                                April 20, 2008

 Contra 4 is one of the best action games in years, and one of the best reasons to own, borrow or steal a DS.

                    Irrelevant storyline? Rambo Cliches? One hit kills? Insane Difficulty? It must be Contra Season! Break out the migranes! C'mon, admit it- you could never beat Contra without cheats. From the suicide-like enemies, to the unfairingly matched bosses, you knew that bottle of tylenol was just moments away from being popped open. You could say that the contra series has gone soft ever since it debuted on the ps2 way back in 2002. But play this for 5 minutes, and you'll be reminded why you always rubberbanded you hand to the controller, just so it won't magically hit the TV and bust into little clank pieces. This game is a return to form, and I commend WayForward for not giving us anything less, or easier. But could they please put a 90 day warranty on the game and the system? Because my DS was this close to being split in two.

                    The graphics pushed the DS to the limit, with streaming backgrounds, and close attention to detail on all characters and environments. But you won't care about that. And neither will you give a damn about the pimpin' remixed background tunes from previous Contra's. You see, the only thing you'll be worried about, is that bullet heading straight for you, which will head you straight to the game over screen, which will head you into a fist fit, after this has happened for the 15th time in a row. Good thing the game controls good, right? Almost.

                      You see, the developers got almost everything right about how a contra game should move, act and respond. But they f#cked up on the thing most Contra players rely on the most-diagonal shooting. And the worst part about this is that it isn't even their fault! The DS itself fails to realize what you're doing the first hour or so of trying to shoot upright, and so, it forces you to JAM the directional button in the direction you want to shoot. And of course, we all know that leads to trips back to the refund store, fully equiped with moans, tears, and frowny faces. And nobody wants that, now huh? :(

                    But if you can manage to get through this little hole, (whether you'll be able to shoot diagonal or not) you'll still have a hell of a time, even if you're still on the first stage. On Easy. 40 minutes from now. But don't fret. What awaits you are some of the finest action sequences I've had in an action game in a long time. Running under a falling bridge. Collapsing alongside a waterfall with a huge, scorpion-like thing trailing behind you, fighting off killer fish and flying spacemen while driving a waterski. Things like these are common in every level, and you'll be pressed to find something that doesn't make your heartrace. If you can handle the difficulty. And that is this title's biggest achievement, and greatest downfall. This is Contra-Glory for the faithful, and even if you haven't played a Contra before this one, the difficulty will keep you on the edge of you seat, making for a decidedly tense ride throughout. But if you can't get past the first level, like so many, than there's not much game to experience, considering this is the only mode you can play from the get-go. Or you could play through it with a friend, which is always more fun, and might actually net you further into the game! YES!!

                    I know there's things I haven't talked about in this game, like the grapple hook for example. But really, this new weapon doesn't effect the Contra gameplay at all. It's just another way to A) Get you up on cliffs, and B) Increase the difficulty. And I've heard many complain about the screen lag, and how it cause you a few deaths when a bullet flies across both screens, but you don't see it because of that dead space between them. Yes, I did die a few times as a result of this, but if you're on your toes at all times, this won't be that much of a problem. And, if you ask me, I think Wayward made it this way on purpose to- you guessed it- increase the difficulty.

                   So, there you have it. The side-scroller equivelant of a suped up, dumbed down metroid with the difficulty of a modern Ninja Gaiden, covered in intense, explosion goodness, with a spreadgun on top. Or just Contra. Have fun.


More information about Contra 4
 
B+ Revolution report card
Views: 1013 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution