More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Hotel Dusk: Room 215 Member Review for the DS

matdevdug By:
matdevdug
02/09/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Cing 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Mild Language, Mild Violence, Use of Alcohol

What do these ratings mean?

     So, you like to watch Law and Order, but wish it had a gritter, 1920's edge?  Has youe dream always been to be a gumshoe wandering around the city?  (Not going to lie, I have always wanted that job...)  Hotel Dusk: Room 215 is a new game from Nintendo that shows how the DS is turning into more than just a simple handheld gaming machine and more into something that can tell a story, and a good one at that.

    Hotel Dusk is basically a text game with some 3-d puzzles.  The reason I use this example is because the same kind of people who like those old text-based games are going to like Hotel Dusk.  The controls are easy to master, but sometimes you feel like your playing this thing on a Palm Pilot due to the amount of time you spend playing with the stylus.  Not that is a bad thing, the game uses it well.

    As for graphics, the game really sucks you in with the style of art.  It has a lot of grit in the images, and it really does the story justice.  As for the story, well....its a little strange.  The actual plot feels like a Japanese take on American movies, and while that might not make any sense now, once you pick the game up and start to play, you'll get what I mean. 

    Overall, its a solid game, but don't pick it up expecting to be done with it in an afternoon or pick it up for a light session.  This is a DS game that demands patience and time due to the level of difficulty for the puzzles.  However, if you like playing as a lawyer on the DS, your going to love Hotel Dusk.


More information about Hotel Dusk: Room 215
 
B Revolution report card
Views: 1350 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution