More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

New Super Mario Bros Member Review for the DS

By:
BlueBomber88
11/27/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains Comic Mischief

What do these ratings mean?

It's been 15 freaking years.  15 years since the last platformer starring Mario in 2-D (Yoshi's Island does not count).

15 years since we saw Sega's rise and fall, Sony's rise and soon-to-be fall, and the birth of !%@# Halo.  3 presidents, and 12 different teams won the Super Bowl.  And finally, this game is here.

New Super Mario Bros is well, pretty fun.  It's not as perfect as Super Mario World, BUT it's not a remake, it's a reimagining... it could be called Super Mario Bros 4 even.  This game builds up on the world of the ORIGIONAL Super Mario Bros (that means no racoon suit and no Yoshi).

80 levels spread over 8 worlds, although you could cut a third of that out if you wanted, really.  This game brings back all of my memories of the 8-bit masterpiece.  They really wanted this game to be better than Super Mario 64 DS.  And they did it.

From the beginning to the end, I never was bored, in fact, my friend had to stop me from playing it all in one go.  Okay, so what now?  What will I do after I win... well, alot.  They put in 240 star coins to find and a different mode in even, so really, you can't get bored.  And you can be Luigi.

Multiplayer minigames are pointless, but are a good way to kill, oh, say 2 minutes.  Online play is fun...which is good.... but it's basic.  Also, some of the items really are pointless... but hey, this made the game fun.

I can't recommend this game higher enough.  Ignore my shortcomings.  Now go get the game, because your princess is in another castle.


More information about New Super Mario Bros
 
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution