More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

New Super Mario Bros Member Review for the DS

SkylerOcon By:
SkylerOcon
07/24/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains Comic Mischief

What do these ratings mean?

New Super Mario Brothers is a game that, well isn't so new. While the game is still fun the basic idea of squish turtles is getting old, but the addition of the three new power ups ads a new spark to goomba stomping or in the shell upgrade's case goomba flattining.  The mega mushroom is fun with the invincible thing and running over the flagpole at the end of the level gives you that great I-don't-have-to-watch-mario-slide-down-a-stupid-flagpole feeling.  The mini-mushroom is a fun powerup, but if your not good at dodging enemies it's not so the best poweup for you, but if you like jumping high running on water and getting a one up every time you jump on that annoying flagpole (sorry I cannot stand that annoying dooooooooo falling sound) you'll probably enjoy the mini mushroom.  The 3-D mario and the 2-D background thing does look good together it kind of fells like 3-D objects were stuffed in a touched up Super Mario Brothers 1-3  backgroud.  The platforming elements are excellently done, yet it's all been done before.  Ahhh.... Yes the best song ever, the Mario theme song, classic!  The music in this game kicks butt, but, we've heard it all before, yet, it still gives you that warm, fuzzy felling inside.  The multiplayer Mario vs. Luigi is great, expecially since you only need one game card to play it, fianally, a game where Mario and Luigi can fianlly settle diffrence's in a fun, violent matter.  The minigames, the minigames hmmm.... hmmm.... why am I repeating myself? why am I repeating myself? Because we already have them all, think Super Mario DS.  Because we already have them all, think Super Mario DS.  Plus they aren't that good anyway. Plus they aren't that good anyway.

All in All, this is a solid platforming title with good music, graphics, and multiplayer.  Yet haven't we seen it all already? 


More information about New Super Mario Bros
 
comments powered by Disqus