More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Personal Trainer: Cooking Member Review for the DS

Solaris10 By:
Solaris10
01/08/09
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Edutainment 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Alcohol Reference

What do these ratings mean?

Most of you must have already read Duke's Ferris review of Personal Trainer Cooking by now. I was so shocked that he reviewed because I intended to leave a review here and didn't expect one...

Well, now's my turn. I will highlight many of the more important points in the game.

Here's my review!:

 

SIMPLICITY

The game is actually stylish and offer great details often overlooked in cooking book. I was a poor chef (a really bad one at that) even when following recipe because the recipe always skipped steps that are supposed to be too simple.... This DS game leaves nothing out from boiling pasta or making stock. It is written in such a way that even someone who never even cooked pasta or touched a kitchen knife can follow. You clearly see that Nintendo tried their best to keep it simple. Even the most difficult dishes have many tips to help you makes an excellent recipe.

 

DEPTH

This game is filled with really good recipes (depends on the individual) from the popular chow meing in China to the popular Mac & Cheese of america, everything is in there. For a game that's supposed to be an introduction to cooking, it's not bad at all! There is 245 recipe from all around the earth. Of course, Nintendo implanted a simple tool called substitue ingredient. For example, try find Daishi stocks at your local market... unless you are really really lucky, you won't find some in America. However, with substitute ingredients, I found out that water or white wine with some spices can be just as good. There is also an included timer inside the DS and an explanation of every ingredients and kitchen tools you will need.

IS THIS A GAME?

Yes and No....depend on your take on cooking. In the strict sense of a traditional games, it isn't. It is an interactive cookbook. But if you are like me and find enjoyment in the art of cooking...then this game can be considered a game. Just like Wii fit for wii before it (yeah I liked it), it actually made me want to cook.....and it worked. I can't stop cooking.

 

LAST THOUGHTS

PTC is a fantastic game. Many recipe won't please everyone and there maybe innacurracy here and there as Duke pointed out in his review (parsley doesn't replace cilantro) but still, it is one of the best if not THE best effort by Nintendo to think outside the box. For a low price of 20$ (some kitchen book cost a lot more and have less recipe), you are in for some fun times!

Happy cooking!


More information about Personal Trainer: Cooking
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 907 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution