More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 3: Mutant Nightmare Member Review for the DS

3scapism By:
3scapism
04/05/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER  
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?


Once upon a time when I were a young lad, the cartoon industry was changed by four green brothers who lived in the sewer. About 17 years later they are still trying to cash in on the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles phenomenon by releasing a fourth movie for the series. In today's day and age, possibly due to the Turtle's success, you can't have a kids movie in the cinemas without a shitty video game tie in, and TMNT for the Nintendo DS is just about as shitty a game as I've ever seen.

OK, lets get started: The game is a 3D computer-generated platformer with strong action elements. Essentially you get a turtle, jump from platform to platform and fight off bad guys. This is in itself a step down from other TMNT games. Normally when the game starts you get to choose the turtle you want to be. Instead, my guess is so they can follow the plot of the movie, you are issued a turtle to play as. This isn't a bad thing, or wouldn't be a bad thing, if there was some kind of distinguishing features between how the turtles played. The only real difference is the weapons they use and the colour of the mask they wear.

Another thing that bothers me is that the game is set up in two different sections. There's one mode your turtle is in for running, jumping, sliding etc., and a different mode for combat. Meaning that when you're jumping around you can't attack, and, more painfully , you can't jump around when you attack. This is a crippling flaw in game design. Both combat and jumping are pseudo-puzzles with one-button solutions. In the case of the jumps, there are icons scattered all over the city. you reach one of those icons and hit a button to jump to another, meaning it's nearly impossible to **** up. I did a few times **** it up, like when you go from jumping to sliding to swinging back to jumping, but even that was to easy. it's kind of like those old laser disc games where you just had to move the joystick to the left to avoid getting hit by a dragon.


Combat is a joke. With jumping, each button on the DS is assigned to a different jump direction. With combat, you only have the one attack button, and it attacks the way you face. So if you're taking on a bad guy, and he leaps out of the way, you swing and miss. this would be OK if the controls weren't so slow that every time you launch an assault. You're green ****wit completely forgets about being Teenage, Mutant and Ninja and just takes a God-damned age to attack like a turtle. So essentially combat goes like this: Enemy sighted, game changes mode for a second, you attack, your character thinks about it, then leans forward into the attack completely missing the footsoldier you were fighting. You try and turn around quickly and relaunch to have the same thing happen. It's kind of like they wanted to add more hours to gameplay. Speaking of wasting time...


I've had my DS for a little under a year, so it would be unfair of me to claim that I've seen everything on there, but TMNT certainly had a few features that surprised me; namely load times. For those of you who are unfamiliar with the DS hardware, it uses game cards, not CDs, to store it's games on. It works kind of like a digital camera's memory card. Since PS1 I've been prepared for long load times from CDs and the like, but on the DS I've played games like Resident Evil and Legend of Zelda which look and sound an arseload better than anything I've seen in TMNT, and they don't have any load times at all; its almost instant. The DS is fast with every other game I've played on it, and despite being about ninjas and having done reasonably well with the jumping sections of the game, this game chugs like a fratboy. And the thing that pisses me off about that this game should be fast. We've seen the movie, we know the plot, let's just go and smash some stuff.


So, this game should have been a lot more fun than it is. The jumping puzzles are briefly entertaining, but you're a turtle and turtles are supposed to fight. The combat engine and load times really dropped this game down. With a little refinement it might have been a lot better.

jim_doki

Subscribe to posts?

Donate?

More information about Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 3: Mutant Nightmare
 
C Revolution report card
Views: 862 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus