More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Alien Hominid Member Review for the GameCube

LinksOcarina By:
LinksOcarina
12/04/05
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER O~3 Entertainmemt 
DEVELOPER The Behemoth 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Blood and Gore, Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

It is rare that we see a 2-D side scroller now a days, and Alien Hominid is no exception. The flash game phenomena is now a real game on the Gamecube and PS2. Who knew that the little company of Behemoth. While it is not the most innovative or breakthrough games ever made, it is definitly still fun.

Graphics- While they are not 3-D, the hand drawn graphics are sharp, animated, and have great color to them. The backgrounds are also sharp and crisp. I loved that while the graphics were simple, it worked for the game itself.

Final Score- B

Play Control- The game has simple controls, and it works well. Controlling the Alien is fine, and blasting the crap out of the FBI, Soviets and men in Black is fun as hell. Plus we have some of the most innovative bosses I have ever seen. The developers at Monolith made it varied, although the patterns in defeating the bosses become apparent after some trial and error. Wish it was more vaired, but for a game like this, it's worth it.

Final Score- C+

Sound- Big explosions, people screaming, and MIDI music, its a blast from the past. While not as good as regular games, it works for this one.

Final Score- B-

Satisfaction- It is short, it is linear, and it has a few crappy minigames and unlockables, but above all of the shortcomings, it is fun. The game reminds me a lot of classic Contra and Metal Slug, which are simple, but fun. This is the type of game you want to play to waste a few hours. It is a fun game, and while it is short in most aspects, it is still worth playing.

Final Score- B

Overall Grade- B-

More information about Alien Hominid
 
B- Revolution report card
Views: 2022 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution