More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Luigi's Mansion Member Review for the GameCube

By:
BlueBomber88
11/27/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

I'll say it first.  Miyamoto screwed up BIG TIME.

This game is the BIGGEST flop in the Mario Series.  Yes, I bought it at launch time.  It took me 4 hours to beat it and then I was playing Super Smash Bros.  I'll admit, there is a lot of detail and the bosses are anything but mundane... but FREAKING LUIGI?

I do prefer Luigi over Mario in Smash Bros... but I really thought Nintendo didn't have to rip off Ghostbusters.  As I said, the game is SHORT.  4 big bosses and about 20 sub-bosses.  It's not near as polished as I liked and it's way too easy.  And I just hated the concept.  Hate hate hate hate hate it.  Why can't we have Luigi doing platforming instead of a bastardized dungeon crawler?  There is very little exploring and fascination, which was a huge step back.  Super Mario made me think I was a hero.  This game makes me feel like a maid.  Vacuming ghosts who really just tick me off.

If this game wasn't near Mario at all I would never buy it.  No one would.  But hey, it's FREAKING LUIGI.  Really, I would LOVE to have made a new Mario world, with Luigi and Mario as selectable charecters (my dreams came true in Galaxy... after I beat the game.) But instead, I never did like the storyline and well, this game is bad.  It's not terrible to merit a F, and I can't even bring myself to give it a D.  It pays good attention to detail, but this game isn't deserving of my high status in my realm of AWESOME franchises... (Mario, Halo, Zelda, Metroid...).  Okay, fine.  I'll go average... I'll give it a C.  But if they didn't have the word Luigi on the cover I would give it a D instantly.  But I feel sorry for him.  Now excuse me, I got to go vacumn my house and get rid of ghosts.


More information about Luigi's Mansion
 
C Revolution report card
Views: 1286 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus