More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Mario Party 6 Member Review for the GameCube

By:
MattAY
05/23/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Puzzle 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Hudson Soft 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Comic Mischief

What do these ratings mean?

"6th Round Is On-A Me Boys!"

If you're first to this game and you see on the shelf "mario party 6".....then pick it up! It's grand! A very good game for yourself but mostly at sleepovers with your friends does it excel! Now i've only had the 4th one before this one, and was never really bored until i'd done every game board and unlocked everything worth unlocking. What i'm trying to say is, if you have a lot of friends round, GET THIS GAME! If you dont, you may want to consider for a while!

It's played like a real board game, you roll the dice and your character moves around the board. There's 5 boards to choose from (6 when you unlock one), and the aim of the game is to collect as many stars as possible on the boards by winning mini-games, stealing them, buying them, finding them, duelling for them....the list goes on! It's a lot of fun, and even with all the options and tactics you have, the game always ends up really close in the last 5 turns.

If you've played mario party before, you know what the standard boards are like. But they've introduced new types: there are 2 boards that remain standard; there's a new type where you have to buy stars at a market price that changes. So if you're lucky you can buy 5 stars at 5 coins each, or 1 star for 50 coins if you're not so lucky. There's another where everyone starts with 5 stars, and you have to send chain chomps round the board to steal stars from them and give them to you. And the other 2 boards are standard really, just that when it's daytime you gain a star on the star space, and when it's night time you lose a star on the star space (i'll explain day and night time later dw :P)



The outcome of the mini-game teams is dependent upon how well you do in your turn. EG, if all 4 players land on a blue space, it's an all VS all mini-game. If you land on a red space, and the other 3 land on a blue space, then it's a 1 VS 3 mini-game. It's a lot of fun when with your friends because one time you'll be on the same team and another time you wont be. There's also "battle mini-games" which is when you fight for a certain amount of coins that everyone has chipped in. Along with good luck spaces by DK, and bad luck spaces by Bowser.

Also the game time is separated by night and day. You get 3 turns of night followed by 3 turns of day, and certain items, objects, even paths change when the time of day does alter. There's many things that you have to think about when preparing for your next turn!



So what else does this game offer? A microphone! You can command your characters in mini-games! Only one person can at a time however, understandable for sure. It's a little iffy, because there's one mic mini-game where you command your goombas away from the trap. But your friend who's the capturer can hear the direction you're moving them in, so he knows which way you're going to go! So that's pretty ****ing stupid huh! I'll be honest the mic is crap, i personally opt to go without it because it annoys me with its stupidity!

So do you have any friends? Of course not!!!! If you do play this on your own, its fairly fun. You can choose the computer's difficulty so you can either whip-ass or get ass-whipped! Your decision.....
There's a place called the "star bank" on the main menu, where you can unlock items, voices, characters, mini-games and a game board by obtaining stars from your single player and multiplayer games. This can be fun for a while, but you realise it's going to take you about 10 years to unlock everything, because everythings takes about 100 stars to unlock! So boredom sinks in i'm afraid!



The graphics are sound, you can tell it's fairly basic and that they blew most of the memory on the movement and the AI, which is better. In a game like this, it doesn't really matter if it looks pretty. Everything has the basic image that 3D mario games have been using since the N64, apart from the shiny moustache from sunshine. Man was that unique. The sound is simple as well, it doesn't have any huge sound effects that take notice. The collection of a coin sounds damn fine and still gives a nice gleam on your face as if you've just gotten rich. The music is very fun, when im with my chums i always find myself humming along to it and singing some crazy made-up lyrics.

So that basically sums this game up...FUN! And fun it is when you're with a party of 2 or more! But dont get tempted by the mic because it really isnt good at all, it's just annoying to use. Maybe if they inserted a little singstar mini-game into it then it would've been popular! But nay! As i said in the intro, get this game if you have many sleepovers, i only really get the disc out when i do. You know the saying, 3's a crowd but 4's a party!!! P-A-R-T-WHY!?! Because I gotta!!!



More information about Mario Party 6
 
C+ Revolution report card
Views: 3885 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution