More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Super Smash Bros. Melee Member Review for the GameCube

Ahs By:
Ahs
02/11/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Fighting 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Comic Mischief, Mild Violence

What do these ratings mean?

This is one of the purest examples of a party game that is out there.

Super Smash Bros. Melee has taken a broad step into the new console and for a fact, it is pure genius. Some of the fighting is funny, some of the moves are funny, some of the characters are genius and to top it all off, the secret characters are worth working to.

The single player mode is not varied, however the whole concept of playing the event stages is promising as it eventually leads to unlocking new characters. Some stages are challenging and, my favourite bit, in a party you can turn off all the music and just hurl Mr. Saturns about and hear them make that, Gnneh noise.

Still, it only gets a B+ becasue it lacks depth in fighting skill. Sure, great for parties, but what about the lonely guy who plays it by himself in the middle of the night, in between, ahem and it would just be boring. Sadly, this was the case in the previous installment. Never the less, a classic version of Nintendo brilliance.

More information about Super Smash Bros. Melee
 
B+ Revolution report card
Views: 1982 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution