More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Super Smash Bros. Melee Member Review for the GameCube

By:
BlueBomber88
11/27/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Fighting 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Comic Mischief, Mild Violence

What do these ratings mean?

What can I say about this game?  It's been in that goddamn purple lunch box half of the time since I bought it.  It's great.

In 1999, the makers of videogames at Nintendo wanted to answer an age old question: "Can Yoshi kick Pikachu's ass in Sector Z?"  Then, it happened: Super Smash Bros.  Personally the one game that's made me more happy than any other game in existance, the origional game showed me the world of Nintendo, hell, it introduced me to Earthbound, a game that I thought was for madmen.  (Face it, they'll release Mother 3 when hell freezes over.  And I really would want it out, personally.)

Then, 2 years later and countless dead Pokemon buried, they thought it was time for a sequel.  Back again this time is 25 charecters (14 from the get-go).  It used to be all about the big guns, now, Mario and Link got "friends" (like Bowser and Zelda...).

What can I say about the game?  The single player is SLIGHTLY better than the last one, I DO get a feeling smashing Goombas and Koopas as Yoshi or Bowser... but the reason you should get this game is the multiplayer.

There is a great reason why I'm giving the score what it is.  First, with the new charecters, I can play now as Dr. Mario and Roy, two fighters that've joined my roster of charecters (I also used Yoshi [because I'm a jerk] and Samus [because I'm psycho].)  There is a tournement mode now, so I can have those 32 man tournaments that I needed to have last time, and there is so much customization.  They took a good game and made it AWESOME.

It's not legendary to win a A.  But if I don't I'll disgrace the game.  So, I'll flip a coin... it's heads.  Fine, I'm off to smash that !$!% Sandbag... and I'll see you all online.


More information about Super Smash Bros. Melee
 
A Revolution report card
Views: 723 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus