More Reviews
REVIEWS Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...

Murasaki Baby Review
When a little girl with an upside-down face finds a balloon, you better protect it from monsters!
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Super Smash Bros. Melee Member Review for the GameCube

LinksOcarina By:
LinksOcarina
12/06/05
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Fighting 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Comic Mischief, Mild Violence

What do these ratings mean?

There are fighting games, and then, there is this. True, its gimmicky, true, its kind of weird looking, and true, everyone hates Jigglypuff, but without a shadow of a doubt, everyone who owns a cube, or at least knows someone who has a cube, has played this fun, multiplayer romp at least once, and knows how fun it can be!

Graphics- Considering this was one of the first gamecube games, the graphics were pretty impressive at the time. Nice and smooth, able to deal with a ton of action going on in the arena at once. Also very vibrant colors, as each fighter is nicely drawn and animated, most with their own special moves (although some of them are clones of other characters, but it's ok because the strength and speed of each character is different). Not only that, but the enviorments are beautiful, making a retro look back into Nintendos history, from Super Mario 2 to F-Zero to the Great Bay Shrine, as well as this, everything runs smoothly. True, its in a 2-D format with 3-D fighting, but it works perfectly.

Final Score- A-

Gameplay- Almost every button can be used on the gamecube controller for all 25 characters (yes, there are hidden ones, which adds to the replay). Each have their own moves, although some as I said are copies of other characters, like Mario, Luigi, and Dr. Mario are pretty much the same, with each different strengths. We have the single player mode, which in all honesty, serves little purpose in this game. It is a nice distraction, but it is not really needed unless you want to collect the hundreds ot trophies in the game. The multiplayer is where it shines, and shine's it does so much, that it easily surpasses the flaws of the single player game. Ever do a 64 man tournament? If not, try it, it is awesome!

Final Score- A-

Sound- Without a doubt, the game has one of the most impressive tracks of music ever. Pretty much every character has a theme song from their respected game. As well as that, we have a few hidden gems, extra tracks for mario, pokemon, zelda, and fire emblem are thrown in the mix. It is definitly an impressive soundtrack.

Final Score- A-

Satisfaction- It is hard to hate this game honestly. I mean, true, alone it is not fun, but when with a group of friends, it is extremely enjoyable and serves the purpose. With tons of unlockables, from characters like Marth and Mr. Game and Watch to new levels, trophies which outline nintendos history, to different modes of play, the game has a lot going for it, and even a lot more for those who keep playing. Still amongst the top selling Gamecube games, and this came out at the launch almost 5 years ago. Bravo Nintendo and HAL, you guys did an excellent job. I can't wait to see the next gen-melee.

Final Score- A

Overall Score- A-


More information about Super Smash Bros. Melee
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 1948 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution