More Reviews
REVIEWS Life Is Strange: Episode 1 - Chy Review
Oh no, it's a sensitive adventure game featuring a teenage female protagonist. Will everyone freak out?!

Grim Fandango Remastered Review
This little light of mine. I'm gonna let it shine. Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine!
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

Nintendo Downloads January & February 2015 - After Burner, LEGO, Indie Games
Every week, Nintendo updates the eShop on both Wii U consoles and 3DS handheld devices. We'll bring you the list here.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Super Hexagon Member Review for the iPhone

Ivory_Soul By:
Ivory_Soul
04/16/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Terry Cavanagh 
DEVELOPER Terry Cavanagh 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E What do these ratings mean?

imagesPublisher: Terry Cavanagh

Developer: Terry Cavanagh

Release Date: 1/19/2013

Rating: Everyone

MSRP: $2.99

Also Available On

PC Logo

MAC Logo

iPhone Logo

iPad Logo

 

 

 

bar

The Good: Great 8-bit soundtrack, quick to get into

The Bad: Headache inducing visuals, ridiculously difficult, hardly a game at all, why bother?

Super Hexagon is a game where I can say it's barely that, in fact it's a game you might quite in less than one minute. I don't know what the designers were thinking, but this game is so hard that it becomes no fun in less than 5 minutes. You are just a triangle rotating around a circle trying to find your way through gaps in a giant hexagon that closes in on you. I couldn't get past 28 seconds of survival, and that was after I memorized every stage and died about 50 times.

ss_534dfe48501ce998f65340db88698fca6aef82c1.1920x1080

That's really all I can say about this game because it's hardly a game at all. The graphics are so simple with just basic colors and shapes, the only praise I can give this game is the awesome 8-bit soundtrack. The game requires memorization and super fast twitch reflexes to win. It doesn't help that there are only hard difficulties, nothing easy to start out with. It doesn't help that the visuals will give you a headache in less than 10 minutes and it just hurts your eyes. I like the fact that the game is trying to be challenging, but I'm glad I didn't pay much for this game. 

super_hexagon

With that said I really can't recommend this to many people unless you are seriously hardcore, but the majority of players will uninstall it in less than 5 minutes. Why play a game that takes over 20 minutes of practice just to advance past the 30 second mark? I honestly don't understand why this game was even made or what audience this was supposed to be for. I really can't say much else for this game because there just isn't anything there to say, it's hardly a game as it is.

(Review based on Android version)

nexus


More information about Super Hexagon
 
Super Hexagon
halfemptyemptyemptyempty
Views: 1639 Review rating:
Reviews by other members

comments powered by Disqus