More Reviews
REVIEWS Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Review
Does Beyond Earth lead humanity to a better world or into a nest of aliens?

Senran Kagura Shinovi Versus Review
I had no idea there was that much silicon in Japan. But it only makes the balance that much more impressive, doesn't it?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Super Smash Bros. (Wii U) Preview
Anyone brawling at home will find plenty to love in the latest console version of Nintendo’s franchise, though amiibo figures lend a layer of ownership not seen before.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Release date: Out Now

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

Super Hexagon Member Review for the iPhone

By:
Ivory_Soul
04/16/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Terry Cavanagh 
DEVELOPER Terry Cavanagh 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E What do these ratings mean?

imagesPublisher: Terry Cavanagh

Developer: Terry Cavanagh

Release Date: 1/19/2013

Rating: Everyone

MSRP: $2.99

Also Available On

PC Logo

MAC Logo

iPhone Logo

iPad Logo

 

 

 

bar

The Good: Great 8-bit soundtrack, quick to get into

The Bad: Headache inducing visuals, ridiculously difficult, hardly a game at all, why bother?

Super Hexagon is a game where I can say it's barely that, in fact it's a game you might quite in less than one minute. I don't know what the designers were thinking, but this game is so hard that it becomes no fun in less than 5 minutes. You are just a triangle rotating around a circle trying to find your way through gaps in a giant hexagon that closes in on you. I couldn't get past 28 seconds of survival, and that was after I memorized every stage and died about 50 times.

ss_534dfe48501ce998f65340db88698fca6aef82c1.1920x1080

That's really all I can say about this game because it's hardly a game at all. The graphics are so simple with just basic colors and shapes, the only praise I can give this game is the awesome 8-bit soundtrack. The game requires memorization and super fast twitch reflexes to win. It doesn't help that there are only hard difficulties, nothing easy to start out with. It doesn't help that the visuals will give you a headache in less than 10 minutes and it just hurts your eyes. I like the fact that the game is trying to be challenging, but I'm glad I didn't pay much for this game. 

super_hexagon

With that said I really can't recommend this to many people unless you are seriously hardcore, but the majority of players will uninstall it in less than 5 minutes. Why play a game that takes over 20 minutes of practice just to advance past the 30 second mark? I honestly don't understand why this game was even made or what audience this was supposed to be for. I really can't say much else for this game because there just isn't anything there to say, it's hardly a game as it is.

(Review based on Android version)

nexus


More information about Super Hexagon
 
Super Hexagon
halfemptyemptyemptyempty
Views: 1472 Review rating:
Reviews by other members

comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution