More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Riven: The Sequel to Myst Member Review for the Mac

6ri11ed_Chee5e By:
6ri11ed_Chee5e
06/29/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 00 
PUBLISHER  
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

The ultimate puzzle game challenge

Riven, much like its predecessor, Myst, runs through a very simple interface that nevertheless makes the world seem completely real.  And what a world it is! Riven is made up of six different massive and unique islands that all seem unbelievably real.  One of my favorite aspects of the game is just how large Riven is an how you will have to cover an unbelievable amount of ground in order to finish the game.  However, if you do not have a genius IQ or the patience of a guru, finishing the game will take an act of god. If you plan on finishing in a single lifetime, playing through Riven requires careful and patient observation and notetaking.  Many of the extremely difficult puzzles require that you have obtained information from all across the Riven world.  For me, this meant an incredible amount of backtracking and trial and error before I was able to determine when, what, and how I was supposed to do something.  I can't even describe how vast a game this is. I have literally played this game off and on, for ten years and am just now finishing it. A great game, although extremely difficult. It is an unbelievable accomplishment that no other game has yet to match.


More information about Riven: The Sequel to Myst
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 1541 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus