More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Banjo-Kazooie Member Review for the N64

By:
MattAY
08/08/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

A Bird In A Backpack.....Alright!

Sooo, you're a bear, you're laying in bed, having a nice Sunday morning lie in with your bird friend sleeping in a backpack hanging on a hat-stand (like always). When you wake up hearing a fight! A girl on girl fight! Ashamed to say, one of the girl's a a FUGLY slut witch, who wants to steal your younger sister's good looks so she can hit on the blokes of Banjo Country. A regular plot yes? Well its basic format is...female stolen into evil castle - go and save her. I'll give Rareware that cookie.

Let me translate, the bear is Banjo, the bird in the backpack is Kazooie. MORPHIN-TIME! Together they are Banjo-Kazooie! Two kick-ass primate/flyers that absolutely rule the N64 gaming world! The fugly slut witch is Gruntilda who has stolen Banjo's sister Tooty so that she can steal her good looks to make herself look good. It's Snow White, without the apple, but with a modern image-transplant device! And Banjo-Kazooie are the princes out to save her (no incest jokes please)!

The gameplay of this game is fantastic, I reckon Donkey Kong 64 copied this game. Let me elaborate: you go around in Gruntilda the witch's lair, which is formed into 9 magical worlds for Banjo-Kazooie to explore. In each world are 10 Jigsaw pieces to retreive by performing tasks and doing favours for people. Or just finding them in corners or tricky platforms, whichever way, theyre all a mission to find. Sound familiar to DK64?...I thought so! There's also 100 notes on each world, honeycombs for additional health, loads of stuff to find in each magical world of the slut's lair. It's never-ending fun. I've played it since it came out ages ago and I still love playing it now!

The control's are...fair! Easy to use, but it's because you have so many moves! You learn about 5 moves in the tutorial (i mean proper moves, like a sturdy charge, and a high jump), and you still learn moves in each level until you get to the 6th magical world! So the controls are sure hard to remember with so much going on, but it doesn't matter when you can be SO creative with so many moves to choose from! They all mainly use the c buttons conjoined with the Z button. All the moves are combos of the buttons, let's put it that way...but you definately get used to them quickly. I just think it's such a feat to have so many moves, well Rareware would have to be damn creative with a bear and bird moulded together!

erm, the sound....it's pretty good actually! It's not poor quality, and there's a different tune for each world...each with a cool bounce tune that makes to hum along in out-of-tune fashion! Also, when in the lair, there's a requiem of "Teddy-bear picnic", fitting to the image eh?! The effects are also good quality, the voices aren't existent. But they're spoken in sounds, and some of the voices for some characters will crack you up. I love it everytime!

So, if you're into good retro games, and you still ahve your N64, BUY this game. I seriously recommend. It's a lot of fun to play! I've just ordered Banjo-tooie from eBay, I'm sure I'll be reviewing that soon :P. But if you liked DK64, you'll love this...because DK64 copied this in my view! Look out monkeys of the jungle...the bears are about to have their picnic!


More information about Banjo-Kazooie
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 2047 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus