More Reviews
REVIEWS Life Is Strange: Episode 1 - Chy Review
Oh no, it's a sensitive adventure game featuring a teenage female protagonist. Will everyone freak out?!

Grim Fandango Remastered Review
This little light of mine. I'm gonna let it shine. Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine!
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Developer Spotlight: Dontnod Entertainment
The developer for Remember Me is quietly becoming a force on the indie scene.

PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

Perfect Dark Member Review for the N64

TheRedneck14 By:
TheRedneck14
07/31/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE First-Person Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Rare 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Animated Blood, Animated Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Definetly one of the best games for the N64 starring the sexy [in Zero] spy Joanna Dark. In Rare's "Sequel" to Goldeneye improves on the almost perfection in Goldeneye. which required an expansion pack to get everything in the game.

Gameplay: Great, The AI is impressive and for its time was state of the art since they could talk and dodge your attacks like real people. You could shoot their guns out of their hands and even make em surrender [that cant happen in Halo wink wink], also the sheer number of possibilities in the Combat Simulator mode [I'll get to that later] raise its rating even more. And the gigantic arsenel of weapons with "secondary modes" makes the game have almost 90 WEAPONS! compared to Halos 7 hahahahaha. The weak point is that even with the Expansion Pack there were some frame rate problems in some points like playing a 12 player death match with RCP120's in the Temple.

Controls: well it is basicly Goldeneye with a few upgrades, so why bother we all know how well Goldeneye was done"

Graphics: Great for its time. Rare really pushed the black box to its limit to get those graphics out. And they even beat those in the infamous "Bad Fur Day" game, the graphics look like PS2 games with lower poly counts and less texture. I was amazed after comparing how much they improved over Goldeneye on this. And the fluidity of the movements that the AI could do at times was great. but the Frame Rate is still bad.

Multiplayer: SInce the game has it I will cover it. There is an incredible ammount of stuff in here dwarfing Gooldeneyes, you have all of the weapons, 1000's of costume/head possibilities and the levels. And the diffrent AI with variable difficulties and personalities [to match the gamer] makes PD have one of the best Multiplayers of any game ever period!

Replayability: Incredible I already covered the multiplayer which made the game so popular. What else do I need to say.

Overall: With some minor problems an almost perfect game which was released late in the N64's life span which hurt it.

Rent or Buy: Buy it now!

9.5/10

More information about Perfect Dark
 
A Revolution report card
Views: 1433 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus