More Reviews
REVIEWS Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Rebor Review
Just a small update to the existing review for the PS4 version of the game. What are the benefits to upgrading? Check here to see. ~Ed. Nick Tan

Cut the Rope: Triple Treat Review
Cutting the ropes has never before made gravity so… pricey.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Sniper Elite 3 Preview
Sending bullets through the hate.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Trials Fusion
Release date: Out Now

The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Release date: 04/29/14

Bound by Flame
Release date: 05/09/14

Wolfenstein: The New Order
Release date: 05/20/14


LATEST FEATURES 4 PAX Indie Titles to Look Out For
We've given attention to all the higher profile games at PAX EAST, but now it's time for the indies.

Ouya's Best Games Coming to the Platform
The Kickstarter console is slowly establishing itself with a couple of creative gems on the way.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
So much more than war...
By shandog137
Posted on 04/18/14
The recent blog, Peace in the Era of Call of Duty  really made me think about war games that dig deeper than simply a kill streak reward. The first game that came to mind was Spec-Ops: The Line and although I haven’t played it, I began to wonder if it did the war genre as...

The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time Member Review for the N64

By:
Archilos
08/17/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action/RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE Out Now


"Masterpiece"
This is the pinnacle of the gaming mountain. Its also the only game which I have ever considered giving a perfect 10/10/ And will it get that elusive score. Maybe for sure. Certainly? Well, perfection is clean, void of any error, and does OOT have any errors? Many say no, but I found one, and Ill get to it later. Still, it doesn’t stop it from being the greatest game ever published.

Graphics 10.0/10
This, except prehaps its sequel, Majora’s mask, is in my opinion the most realistic looking game on the N64. I was drooling over the sheer realism six years ago, and dammit, they still don’t look bad by todays standards either.
Everything looks almost perfect, as it should on a 256MB cart, and with almost no slowdown to boot. You have to take a moment to look at the scenery around you as it looks absolutely splendid. All the characters and backdrops look excellent too by the standards of 1999 and as I said before, they don’t look bad by todays standards either.

Audio- 9.7/10
Well, first of all, the music in this game is absolutely beautiful, From the traditional Zelda music of Hyrule field, to the eerie dark tunes, which play in the background of the Dungeons. It is the music which makes the whole gaming experience the best that’s out there, nothing comes close to beating it. The music, along with the gorgeous graphics and enviroment help to immerse you into a fantasy world, a thing which very few games can do.
The sound effects however, is where the Audio section loses a few marks. First of all, those ‘crys’ which link makes when falling down a hole, swinging his sword etc are very annoying. They could of made them much better, but hey its still better than a muted link swinging his sword, at least he shows some emotions.
My other gripe with the sound effects is, why is it when Link hits some wood with his sword, how come it sounds like metal? Theres also a few other faults with the sound effects but these are few and far between and doesn’t affect the overall experience of the game at all.

Story- 9.4/10
The story is still fairly run of the mill, the ‘hero saving the world’ kind of story, but it has a few twists and turns to make it better than most games. I ll let you experience the story yourself, I don’t really want to ruin it here, but ill say that you will be surprised by more than a few twists in its tale

Gameplay- 9.9/10
Wow!, This is awesome, as close to perfect as you will ever get, This game plays like a dream.
First of all, the dungeons are huge and awesome. You will likely spend hours dwelling deep into the dungeon, finding treasures and finally defeating the boss, which guards either a stone or a medallion (in most cases) there are 9 main dungeons in the game, 3 as Young Link, and 6 as adult link. In addition, there are 3 mini dungeons as well.
Lets talk about young and adult link shall we. You start the game as young link, being only able to use a small sword, a wooden shield and a few other weapons we find. About a third of the way through the game, you will warped 7 years down the track as the kick-ass adult link. He can use bigger swords and more advanced weapons. However, he cannot use some of Young Links weapons however, and due to the puzzles and story, you will be required to switch back between the two several times.
The enviroment which young link roams is also substantially different to the adult link enviroment seven years down the track. The young link enviroment is just a regular place, its perfectly normal, the people are much happier, and theres very little evil around the streets. However, as soon as you step out of the temple of time as adult link, you will see the market place infested by Zombies and you will also notice Hyrule castle is now Ganons Castle. The sky is also darker, there is a lot more evil around, and also, a lot of the people have changed dramatically in both appearance and personality.
Also, to add to this games already excellent gameplay, there is also a day and night time too, the first game to feature these characteristics , well the first game which the time of day effects the land and enviroment. For example, most shops are open at day and closed at night. Also certain enemies will only appear during the day or night time, and another creature, the Golden Skutalla, will mostly only come out at night, unless they are in a cave, underground or are in dungeons.
The weapon choice as well is Fabulous, as I said before, there are some weapons which only young link can use, and others which only adult link can use, some can be used by either. Not only can they be used to kill enemies, but they also need to be used to solve puzzles in certain dungeons. For example, Bombs can blow apart fragile walls, arrows can hit eye switches and the Ocarina can remove time blocks.
The ocarina is a musical instrument which can make many things happen through out the land if played. There are songs which can turn day time into night time, call up a storm, approve your connection with certain people and even songs which can warp you near the entrances to dungeons.

Well there is so much more than the above, that is only the basics, but ill say this, this game plays like a dream, and even seven years later, it still has the greatest gameplay to this day.

Controls- 9.7/10
To add to the above, the games controls are perfect. You use the control stick to move, A is the action button, b to swing your sword, and R to raise your shield. You can also assign items to the 3 c buttons. Then there is the original concept of Z targeting. With Z targeting, you can lock on to many enemies and objects making it much easier to aim. There are a few people out there who are against Z targeting, but in my opinion, it is one of the most intuitive control methods ever introduced and it controls are awesome.

Replay Value 10.0/10
I have played through this game at least 2/3 times a year, and each time is no more boring than the last. Despite there isnt a lot to do once you have defeated ganon, you will be playing through this game many times more once you have completed it once trying different methods or making it more difficult by collecting less hearts or items. Its one of those games, which you will just want MORE MORE MORE.



Graphics: 10
Sound: 9.7
Gameplay: 9.9
Controls: 9.4
Replay Value: 10

Overall: 9.9

Pros
-Graphics
-Beautiful Music
-Best. Gameplay. Ever
-Intuitive Controls
-One of the few games which you will be wanting to complete over and over

Cons-
-Sometimes, the sound effects are unrealistic
-A dodgy control stick can make this game somewhat frustrating.

Final Say: So why isnt it perfect? Well that second Con is the reason. Ive played this game with a poor control stick and a poor control stick, while it only effects other N64 games a little bit, it effects this game a LOT. Sometimes link wont jump far or move quick enough, and it can get frustrating. So do I dare say it, take ½ a point off if your control stick is worn out or dodgy. As the saying goes, a poor control stick can ruin the best games. But it doesn’t ruin this great game, it only hinders it a bit.

But if you your control stick is working fine or even half decent, this is the closest gaming is ever going to get to perfection for a very long time. Even seven years down the track, it has that crown saying ‘Best. Game.Ever” proudly lodged on its head, and I dare say, it will be staying on its head for a very long time.

More information about The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time
 
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution