More Reviews
REVIEWS LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?

Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Alice Member Review for the PC

PsychoSavager By:
PsychoSavager
01/06/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  

PsychoSavager\'s review of American McGee\'s Alice

Normally the videogame community shuns any game based on a TV show or film, with good reason, but how often is it that we get a game based based solely on a series of books? With the exception of Rainbow Six, I can\'t think of any. Apart from Alice of course.

If you haven\'t read the Alice books, I suggest you do so. Especially if you like the random humour present in The Hitchhiker\'s Guide to the Galaxy - Lewis Carroll is much like the Douglas Adams of his day. Not only do I like the Alice books, but I also like darker, more twisted fairytales such as Labyrinth or Return to Oz. I thought giving this treatment to Alice would be the perfect combination. Unfortunately, this is not the case.

Graphics

I bought this game in 2007, seven years after it had been released. The main recommendation for the game when it debuted were its graphics. But seven years does not treat graphics well and whilst they would have been good in its day, they no longer pack a visual whallop.The scenery is still mildly impressive though, if occasionally a bit repetitive.

Story

This is a big let-down of the game. Giving that Alice is based on a pair of storybooks, you\'d think that the story would be more prominent, but sadly, there are no major twists or much plot development. It begins promisingly, with a Alice in a mental institute having been driven insane by the death of her parents in a house fire. But the for the rest of the game, Alice merely ventures through Wonderland encountering warped versions of her old friends until the final battle with the Red Queen.

The voice acting is done reasonably well; Alice has an English accent, and the Cheshire Cat sounds creepy and sardonic.

Gameplay

Alice is basically a third person shooter with a LOT of platformer-style jumping. I\'m very glad this game was released on PC as, in order to preserve your sanity, you need to save very often due to the dramatic deaths Alice will frequently encounter by falling.

The weapons in the game are probably one of its best features; original and appropriate. Particularly the flamingo croquet mallet. You also get the chance to use jacks, dice, a jack-in-the-box, an ice staff and a 19th century blunderbluss. The fights are frequent, and although the enemies are well-designed (card-guards, bandersnatchs, jabberspawn), the fights soon get a bit boring.

All of the stronger attacks require use of magic, which you\'ll find littered everywhere and dropped by your enemies. There\'s no way to upgrade your health or magic, so apart from the occasional, rare, power-up, the weapons are the only improvement as you progress in the game.

Another gripe with the game is its lack of puzzles. Most of them are Tomb Raider-style switch pulling, without much need for brain input. Even the bosses are simply "shoot and evade" rather than requiring any use of the surroundings or weak points to defeat them.

Lifespan/Replayability

The game is of average length with four difficulty settings. With the possible exception of finding certain weapons earlier in the game, there are no secrets or major reasons to replay it.

Conclusion

American McGee\'s Alice would have probably worked better as a point-and-click adventure game. As this stands, it\'s only a moderately fun third person shooter. Alice fans may enjoy seeing the various characters and spotting the occasional Lewis Carroll reference, but the overwhelming lack of story or puzzles denies it any memorability or worthiness.

Let\'s hope the upcoming film with Sarah Michelle Gellar will have more story. But I sure hope they don\'t make another game from it.....


More information about Alice
 
C- Revolution report card
Views: 1604 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus