More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Black And White Member Review for the PC

By:
Ivory_Soul
05/26/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Strategy / Role-Playing 
PLAYERS 00 
PUBLISHER EA / Lionhead Studios 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Comic Mischief, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

The Good: Creatures a fun idea, great sense of humor, best use of "good or evil" concept in an RTS game, very simple to play

The Bad: Horrendous graphics, very hard, gets old after the first level

I remember hearing about B&W back in the day but I didn't have the machine to run it. Now, seven years later, I've played it and walked away about underwhelmed. First off the game is butt ugly, but that is expected for a seven year old game. The textures are blurry and washed out and the character models are down right laughable. No matter though B&W delivers a great style that hasn't been in any other RTS.

            While the story is paper thin there really isn't any need of one. You are a God who is just a floating hand and you take control of creatures. These Creatures can help your villagers either farm grain for good, chop down wood for...erm...wood, and you can pet it, slap it around to tell it it's bad, or encourage it to do bad things such as even eating the villagers! The whole premise of B&W is the "good or evil" premise that Peter Moloneux oh so loves. The whole concept of the game is to influence other villages by performing God like tasks such as supplying them with food, or wood. You can use your Creature to impress them or you can do evil things to impress them such as picking up the villagers and throwing them around, smashing their buildings etc.

            When you get a village the people will have needs. These are noted with flags around building. Some may want more houses to breed children. Some may want a wonder, some people may even want more trees or rocks in their village. When you start running out of resources you can perform miracles by having your villagers chant at your temple. You can then use "gestures" to use wood miracles, food miracles, fire, or shields to attack or protect villages etc. The game plays out in missions via silver scrolls that require you to help (or hurt) people. When you get the God Stones you unlock the next door to pick your next Creature.

            While all this sounds astounding (and it is) the game is very hard and gets old really quick. After the first land which is the tutorial land you'll pretty much have seen what the game has too offer. What makes the game so hard is that you will never have enough resources and the resources are very limited, and buildings require too much wood to build. While taking your Creature out on walks using a leash (use the good or bad collar to have the Creature act accordingly) sounds neat it is but not for long.

            Back in 2001 this kind of thing was like finding a Martian...it didn't exist. In 2008 we've seen this many times before and it's nothing new. I know this is an old game, but some of the older games still look good even for today, and this just ain't one of them. If you really dig this kind of thing I recommend it, but if you've played other great RTS games you won't see anything new here.

More information about Black And White
 
B Revolution report card
Views: 1177 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution