More Reviews
REVIEWS The Evil Within Review
Developer Shinji Mikami wishes for the survival-horror genre. Does The Evil Within make a case?

Defense Grid 2 Review
Hidden Path Entertainment offer up this sequel to one of the originators of tower defense gaming, with tons of modes for alien-blasting aficionados.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Release date: 10/21/14

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES 7 Problems With Kingdom Hearts HD 2.5 ReMIX [Hands-on Preview]
For the last time, Aqua, NO I will not go out with you! (Yes, yes I will, actually.)

Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Bras
On small farewells
By Bras
Posted on 10/14/14
Hello people I know and people I do not know, people with whom I have interacted at some point and people who happen to be here for a random reason involving boredom.  I have gathered you here so I can say one thing to your face before (some of…? Anyone hopefully?) you figure it...

Brothers In Arms: Road to Hill 30 Member Review for the PC

By:
Ivory_Soul
05/11/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Ubisoft 
DEVELOPER Gearbox 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

920237_62001_thumbPublisher: Ubisoft

Developer: Gearbox Software

Release Date: 3/15/2005

Rating: Mature

MSRP: $39.99

Also Available On

Xbox 1 Logo

PS2 Logo

 

 

bar

The Good: Great graphics, smart AI, great squad controls, authentic feeling, lots of attention to detail, great extras

The Bad: Feels repetitive, not much variety, tank AI has pathfinding issues, requires a lot of patience and can be very difficult

World War II shooters were everywhere, but Ubisoft and Gearbox took a dangerous risk and released one so late in the game. 2005 was a year where WWII shooters were at their peak and when gamers hated them the most. Brothers in Arms proved to be a more authentic and smarter shooter and won fans of the genre over.

Gearbox painstakingly recreated Carentan and many parts of France where the 101st Airborne Division landed on D-Day. The game also uses squad tactics and realism unlike any other WWII shooter out there. You will notice when you play how well the guns feel when you shoot them, and how you can't nail an enemy from 100 feet away with a Thompson. You have to flank the enemy or you die. It's that simple and that difficult. Red circles will appear above enemy squads. You can issue commands to your squads to suppress them. Their circle will turn grey and then it is safe to move up and find cover around the area to flank them. It sounds simple, but it's not. Your squadmates can die and so can you if you aren't careful. You have to watch out for MG fire which will kill you in an instant, and some times even tanks.

gfs_54765_2_1

This realism and authenticity can't be done without good AI and BiA delivers and is even impressive today. The only issue I had with AI were with tanks. Some times they wouldn't go around each other or go the other way to follow a command. The game also requires a lot of patience. Some times even trial and error. You can't just rush every enemy like in Call of Duty and save the day. You can order squads to rush and attack while your other squad suppresses, then you can charge in with them to kill them all. You can also order squads a set positions that you want so you have total control. It feels good and is a key part to the game. Without mastering this you won't get very far.

screenshot_pc_brothers_in_arms_road_to_hill_30009

You also can't just use an M1 Garand and snipe an enemy's head while he's in cover. It just doesn't work that way, you also can't kill an MG unless you flank them. This isn't Medal of Honor. This gave a great feeling of realism, but it was also very difficult. I died quite often because I chose a wrong tactic or I flanked the wrong way. Some times my impatience got in the way as well. I even found different weapons to help certain situations. When I finally got the Springfield sniper rifle it was like a weapon from God. After all the inaccurate weapons that couldn't hit crap this thing made life easier, but only for a few levels at the end.

When it comes to looks, BiA looks great even to this day. The lighting looks real, the grass flows, the models and textures are pretty high-res (for back then) you will be impressed. The game holds up and is still better than a lot of shooters today. My main concern is that the game feels the same throughout. I just went around killing everything and maybe planted a few charges. I could mount an MG some times, ride the back of a tank, but overall there wasn't much variety in the game which I find the biggest issue.

brothers-arms-road-hill-30_11_ss_l

What's here is one of the most authentic shooters around and fans of the genre won't be disappointed at all. The game looks great, has smart AI, and  tells a sad story of Baker Company and the 101st Airborne.

alienware


More information about Brothers In Arms: Road to Hill 30
 
Brothers In Arms: Road to Hill 30
fullfullfullfullempty
Views: 39562 Review rating:

comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution