More Reviews
REVIEWS Firefall Review
Repetitive gameplay makes this fall a little boring.

The Walking Dead: Season Two Review
At this point, you’re not coming back for the zombies. Let’s get down to business.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions Preview
Put up some movie glasses, because Geometry Wars is entering the third dimension.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Destiny
Release date: 09/09/14

FIFA 15
Release date: 09/23/14

Ar Nosurge: Ode to an Unborn Star
Release date: 09/23/14

Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14


LATEST FEATURES And I Was All "Hell Yeah I'll Play a New Dreamcast Game"
I just played a Dreamcast game that was released in... wait, 2014?

A Comprehensive Guide to Dealing with Controversy in the Video Game Industry
Need help wading through the latest misogyny/homophobia/racism/corruption debate in the gaming industry? Paul Tamburro’s here to help!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP samsmith614 Since game design is a business, I decided to see what's really selling well for the PS4. I did this search a week ago, and at the time, out of the top 20 bestsellers on Amazon 10 had not even been released yet. By now some have been released. But others still have not. And yet others...

Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare Member Review for the PC

By:
Crackbum
12/14/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE First-Person Shooter 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER Infinity Ward 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

 

http://cache.kotaku.com/assets/resources/2007/08/call-of-duty-4logo.jpg

 

Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare PC Single Player Only Review

(Dang that’s a MOUTHFUL!)

 

            Call of Duty has been the trademark of Infinity Ward since 2003. For those of us who know the Call of Duty series, Call of Duty has taken place in World War II with games like Call of Duty 1, 2, and 3, but due to Treyarch incompetence with first person shooter, it ended in the disaster of CoD fans like to call, disaster and it would seem that Call of Duty series to never be restored to its glory. But now Infinity Ward has brought us a brand new experience, a first person shooter taking place in modern times and with modern times comes with modern problems, it must come with Modern Warfare.    

 

            Call of Duty Modern Warfare title isn’t just for show, in fact the game does not take place in WWII anymore it takes place around these times. With modern times however, come modern problems like taxes, banging that hot chick that is confused about her sexuality, your sons and daughters, and Global Terrorism, hmmm I wonder what CoD4:MW is about? Anyways, you’ll be fighting against Al-Asad, a cruel leader of Middle Eastern Forces, and Zakhaev, a one arm Russian rebel and Nationalist. You will play as three main characters, U.S. Marine, Paul Jackson, S.A.S operative, "Soap" MacTavish, and a character I don’t want to spoil for you. The story takes place all over the world, but mostly in the Middle East and Russia. Call of Duty Four graphics make it feel so intense, it will make you sad, funny, happy, and angry all at the same time.  10/10 for story

Play this game, or Al Asad will kill you =D


 

            Call of Duty Four also features some of the best graphics this generation has had, and sure it’s no Crysis, but all the same it feels so real. The game will run on System Requirements: GeForce 6600 / Ati Radeon 9800Pro or better but the System Recommendations are GeForce 7800 / Ati Radeon X1800 or better. The game will run on DirectX9.c. Every single inch on this game looks realistic: explosions, people, gun fire, grass, fires, smokes, etc. The shadows and lighting fit so perfect in this game it’s hard to tell differences. Of course, although the graphics are spectacular, there are sometimes a few bad texture moments. 9.5/10 for graphics

 

http://img520.imageshack.us/img520/7999/volkerjo5.jpg

Fantastic isn’t it, but still, sucks to be him!

 

            Of course, with every amazing game, there has to be flaws, and for CoD4:MW, that is sounds. The problem with sounds is that sometimes voices can seem a bit full suckage, weapon gunfire sounds are almost the same as Call of Duty 2’s, and some explosions seem muffled. However, walking, crouching and other movements react so darn fine, and death sounds and other miscellaneous sounds are very well. I can honestly compliment the music as it fits the mood so perfect, also the ending music will have your face grinning! Another part to mention is vehicle movement/sounds fit very much so into the game! 9/10 for sound/music.

  View full size!

Here we see the dangerous homo sapient, hiding from the helocopterous

 

                        In Call of Duty Four, It plays like an average FPS (first person shooter for those nubcakes out there). However, with the numbers 1-6, you can activate some very useful items, and although hard to reach, they will become a necessity in the single player campaign. The controls are the standard WASD format, with G throwing grenades, Q and E changing view from left to right, N to use night goggles, C and crtl to crouch or crawl, and R to reload, a standard for PC FPS veterans. All in all, the controls are great and little to none is wrong with it, unless you have small hands…

AND NOW, TIME FOR SOMETHING COMPLETELY DIFFERENT =D

http://www.comedycentral.com/images/motherload/franchises/tiny_hands/videos/101_sunday_m5.jpg

“Wahhhh, I can’t reach the W button T-T”

 

(Of course, due to technical difficulties, I don’t have the multiplayer in CoD4, so sorry ‘-_-)    

            The replay value in this game is pretty good in my opinion. Plus with the multiple difficulties, you’ll be hooked(I know I was =D!). You can also collect 30 secret enemy intel to unlock cheat codes after you beat the game, so that you can finally do something you always wanted to do =D. Another bonus is, that after you beat the game, you unlock arcade mode, which allows scoring up points in the campaigns mode. The major problem with this however, is that the game itself is so short, that you’ll be quite sadden that it takes less than six hours to beat it. 9/10 for replayability.

 

BOOM HEADSHOT, I CAN DANCE ALL DAY!

            Stay frosty fellow Marines/readers your tortur- pleasures are almost over.

            Call of Duty Four: Modern Warfare, is game full off surprises and greatness that will have your jaw dropped. CoD4:MW features 30+ of weapons that will be crucial in every step of this game, they are all useful from the pistol to RPG-7. The enemy AI is smarter than the ones in CoD2 and 3, but in this game enemies and allies trying to decide if they are soldiers, or they are mentally disabled football players. The game itself is very complex but is linear, VERY linear. However, even though the games objectives are linear, how get there and how you do it is up to you. The gameplay mechanics with grenades are special, you acquire 4 kinds of grenades, frag, stun, smoke, and flashbang, additionally you can throw back frag grenades, and however with something as crucial as this, the indicator is much too small to tell where the grenade is. Truly what makes this game remarkable, like the other CoD games, is the gameplay mechanics! 9.5/10 for gameplay.

Call of Duty Four has the things that every FPS should STRIVE for.

 

            There is no doubt in my mind that Call Of Duty 4 is the best in its series and better than the World War II games which have been actually going on LONGER than the actually REAL WWII! CoD4:MW, is everything a FPS veteran wants plus more. The single player is fantastic, and no real gamer should miss out on it. For those of you who have a PS3, XBOX 360, PC, and hell, even a DS or MOBILE should pick up this game at all cost. There is truly no other words need to be said about how damn awesome this game is, I can think of plenty of words to describe this game: Fantastic, spectacular, amazing, superb, great, awesome, GODLIKE! Even with it’s flaws, Call of Duty Modern Warfare is still the third best shooter I’ve ever played in my life.

 

FINAL SCORE: GoHumpATreeHippy/10 for those people believes that this game is too darn realistic for its own good.

Real Final Score: A 9.2 out of 10 For Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare(PC also available on the Playstation Three and the Xbox 360) Single Player Campaign(that’s still a mouthful >.>)    

  View full size!

More at a Eleven

NEXT GAME TO BE REVIEWED:

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2159/1707628296_ec65e0b056.jpg

We’re Still Alive ^_^


More information about Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
 
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution