More Reviews
REVIEWS Screencheat Review
The first FPS in history where looking at your friends’ screens isn’t cheating; it’s a requirement.

Natural Doctrine Review
This actually might be "your dad's" Japanese TRPG, and for those with a hankering for it, that can be a very good thing.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Release date: Out Now

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES 7 Problems With Kingdom Hearts HD 2.5 ReMIX [Hands-on Preview]
For the last time, Aqua, NO I will not go out with you! (Yes, yes I will, actually.)

Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare Member Review for the PC

By:
Ivory_Soul
04/13/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Lace Mamba Global 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  

Chivalry_Medieval_Warfare_cover_artPublisher: Torn Banner Studios

Developer: Torn Banner Studios

Release Date: 10/16/2012

Rating: Mature

MSRP: $24.99

Also Available On: PC Exclusive

bar

The Good: Excellent fight mechanics, well designed maps, all four classes are fun to play as, great graphics and sound, fun modes

The Bad: Not enough content overall, some server instability, not enough classes, controls have a steep learning curve

While everyone is playing Black Ops II and Battlefield 3 there is a little multiplayer game called Chivalry: Medieval Warfare. This knight-in-shining-armor online only game pits players against each other and lets them have at it with deadly swords, crossbows, flaming pots, shields, and various other Camelot era weapons. This is a different multiplayer game and will keep you hooked for dozens of hours.

2012-10-19_00001

There's no story here at all so don't worry about that, this game doesn't need a story. You open up the game and you are greeted with a server list. There's a tutorial that shows you the ropes of this game. There's a bit more to it than just swinging around weapons. Each one has range, damage, and speed that you have to think about. In a small arena you probably want a short and fast weapon, while the more open maps you should use a javelin and a giant polearm. There are three basic attacks which are overhead, side to side, and jab swings. You can feint attacks as well to trick your opponent which is a key move you have to learn to master. You block, but you have to time it and you can't just block aimlessly. You have to be looking at the weapon or the block won't really connect. This is really a knight simulator and the game is just so much fun.

It doesn't stop there though, there are some projectiles. The bow is great to use and has an arrow cam which helps you adjust your aim. There's also a crossbow but reloading is very slow and you can't see around you when reloading. Larger classes get axes to throw, while smaller ones get knives and daggers. I found a strategy where I'd use up my projectiles and try to get in some kills that way before going in. There are 4 classes, Man-at-Arms, Knight, Vanguard, and Archer. The Vanguard is the biggest class and can kill in just a couple of hits but is extremely slow. He, and the Man-at-Arms, have a charging attack that will devastate anyone in its path. If you use a kite shield with these classes it protects you from rear attacks which is actually how I died the most. I would be battling an enemy and I'd get creamed by two guys coming up from behind that I couldn't see or hear. 

medievalwarfare2

Some levels have traps in them that you can activate to help your team or whittle down someone's health before going in for the kill. Each class is a lot of fun to play and I found myself constantly switching between them unlike other multiplayer games. I just wish there were more classes. Four isn't all that much, and there aren't enough maps. Torn Banner is putting out free content, but it's been slow coming since release last year. However, I still find myself coming back and playing a few rounds at least once a week, the game is very addictive.

The game modes are also lacking. There's just Team Deathmatch, Free-for-All (Deathmatch), Capture the Flag, and Dueling which is 1v1. There are a couple more, but these are typical modes found in other games. One mode that is unique to this game is a siege type mode where you use battering rams, trebuchets, and various other long-range siege weapons to break into the enemy's fortress and take it over. That is probably the most fun. On one map my team was trying to push a battering ram through a small village. We were trying to fight off the other team and it was a constant back and forth. Once we got to the front doors their archers made easy work of the battering team because their moat didn't allow us to surround the team and defend them. We just had to do archer battles or hang back and wait for people to come out.

Chivalry-Medieval-Warfare-2

As it stand, Chivalry has proven to be a very popular and well made multiplayer game. The graphics are fantastic and everything looks superb. Hopefully Torn Banner can continue to dole out new content to make players happy and continue playing.

alienware


More information about Chivalry: Medieval Warfare
 
Chivalry: Medieval Warfare
fullfullfullhalfempty
Views: 2073 Review rating:

comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution