More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Civilization IV Member Review for the PC

By:
andrew32199
05/30/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Strategy 
PLAYERS 1- 12 
PUBLISHER 2K Games 
DEVELOPER Firaxis 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E What do these ratings mean?

This game is almost perfect in everyway. I mean I feel badly saying this game isnt perfect cuase Sid is a genious. The religeon is an awesome aspect as well with all the economic and social factors. But then there are the "Battles" if thats what you want to call them. I hate watching my three little worriors get cut down by three little bowmen at melee range. Its frustrating as hell. Not to mention you can't attack with all your units at once. So those three little bowmen can get down three worriors then i have to send in another wave only to have them shot to hell the same way. When I bought this game i assumed it was so cutting edge and imaginitive I figured it would have some sort of actual battle (i.e. Rome:Total War, Rise of Nations) And thats another thing, why is it that RON and R:TW aren't as popular or well known as this title. As far as I can see they are nearly identicle only in the two I just mentioned there is some actual battle strategy. You don't have to just role the dice and hope your worriors are more experienced. The best part about Rome:Total War is that you can be greatly outnumbered but with the right formations, skirmishes, defences (castle walls or sheilds), and a lil luck you can pull off miraculous victories that keep the game fun and exciting. I just played Civ4 for a couple days now and I can't find a reason to keep going. This is a great game but if your looking for epic battles in RTS that YOU CAN ACTUALLY CONTROL! do yourself a favor and buy Rome:Total War. In fact I'm putting Civ 4 back in the box.

 

Let me know what you think.


More information about Civilization IV
 
B- Revolution report card
Views: 1555 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus