More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Clive Barker's Undying Member Review for the PC

By:
Ivory_Soul
10/27/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Animated Blood and Gore, Animated Violence

What do these ratings mean?

The Good: Lots of gore! Great story, cool weapons and spells, creepy atmosphere

The Bad: Extremely slow pace, flat, boring, and lifeless visuals, unforgiving difficulty

I came into Undying with high expectations from what I've heard of the game and they were easily brought down fast. While the game creates a scary atmosphere and the story is original...it takes FOREVER for it to pick up and the shooting is the same thing over and over. You have plenty of neat weapons and magical powers but most of them are rendered useless. The story goes along the lines of a man named Patrick who has to help and old friend out who released a curse when he was a child. You have to investigate this curse and find out what was really released. While this is good and all the game takes forever to tell the story and makes you just want to stop playing for good.

The graphics are bad for today's standards. Using the Unreal Engine 1.0 the game tries to create a creepy and scary atmosphere, which it pulls off, but in the end brought down due to its poor graphics. While there are older games that have good graphics even for today; Undying's are just lifeless, flat, and boring. The game is ultra gory with skeletons ripping your heart out and eating it, Howlers ripping your head off and eating it...it's a bloody sight indeed. Also, with the extreme difficulty it makes you want to hate this game even more. Ammo and health are scarce even on the easy setting. This was of course when EA had balls and released games such as Thrill Kill, American McGee's Alice, and this game. If you can stomach the poor graphics and slow pace then Undying is for you. If you played this game back in 2001 then it would have been wonderful.


More information about Clive Barker's Undying
 
B- Revolution report card
Views: 1333 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution