More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Command & Conquer: Generals Member Review for the PC

killakeith123 By:
killakeith123
11/22/05
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Strategy 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Westwood/EA 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE Out Now

Command & Conquer set the stage for most RTS games back in the day and Generals takes it in a whole new direction, Leaving the old 2-D PC RTS games in the dust by introducing a new polygonal 3-D Command & Conquer world at our finger tips.

When i first grabbed to box of this game i was stunned at the fact that it was true, 3-D graphics have been itroduced to the C&C World in a large scale. But because of the the graphics were lacking of detail and contrast, making then choppy. The building, tank, and aircraft models were detailed and crisp. But use the new zoom feature on one of you infantry units and all you see is about 6 colored polygons with a rifle. It looks as if they didnt even try to texture the units, but just colored them. The Environments of Generals ar full of interesting things, suches cars and cities to use for a more tactical gaming style. You can man a skyscraper and use it for a fortress and take out enemys with riflemen. All aspects of the enviornment or crisp, if only they worked on the unit models.

When I started to play this game, the aspect of gameplay has changed drasticly from the origional. First off, there are differant sides of play. Instead of GDI and NOD there are USA, China, AND GLA (Global Liberation Army) which brings in a newer, more realistic feel to this game. You start out with your basic infantry you would see in real life but once you get higher in the General scale you get more of a Sci-Fi feel of the game, with stuff you could really only find in a game of C&C. Now they even incorperated the dreded builder into the game. No more cool hi tech buildings popping from the ground any more. I guess it was to add to the fact that this is more of a modern war game and they are trying to make it as real as possible. But for any hardcore C&C player, it will take no time to ajust.

So, i guess EA/Westwoods Finally game together and Westwoods last game period turned out to be everything a die hard C&C fan will enjoy, and even some new ones, This game gets a B+ in my book.





More information about Command & Conquer: Generals
 
comments powered by Disqus