More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Company of Heroes: Opposing Fronts Member Review for the PC

TheVaultDweller By:
TheVaultDweller
12/16/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RTS 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER THQ 
DEVELOPER Relic Entertainment 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Strong Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Sure, the game still looks awesome, with lighting and climate, and it sounds even better than before (although that "bloody wanker" stuff gets old pretty soon, I actually prefer the panzer elite voices); two new factions surely would make the gameplay of an already very original and dynamic strategy game better, right? Well, in this case, wrong.

Basically, the game has become absolutely unbalanced. The new factions are way too strong, and using the original ones becomes useless and embarrasing (mainly because you'll get beaten by noobs using the British).

Company of Heroes was a game in which you were not allowed to spam units due to the economy system, in which the individual control of squads was vital, and taking cover was absolutely necessary. Now I ask, what's the use of cover when the British can build trenches anywhere, trenches which are, to begin practically indestructable, and provide more cover than anything else in the Battlefield.

Really, new factions don't have MGs?, well not to worry, because they have been rendered useless. New units are almost immune to pinning.

Builder units in the new factions are also outstanding soldiers, what's the deal?

British buildings can move? Sure they can.

New vehicles, units and artillery have, as I see it, crushed the balance and thus made a noob-friendly game.

What the hell were the game developers thinking when they chose the nationality of the new factions? To begin with, Germany wasn't the only country in the axis. And I don't mean any disrespect, but I think the Russians played a bigger part in the war than the British.


More information about Company of Heroes: Opposing Fronts
 
C- Revolution report card
Views: 1203 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus