More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Company of Heroes: Opposing Fronts Member Review for the PC

TheVaultDweller By:
TheVaultDweller
12/16/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RTS 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER THQ 
DEVELOPER Relic Entertainment 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Strong Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Sure, the game still looks awesome, with lighting and climate, and it sounds even better than before (although that "bloody wanker" stuff gets old pretty soon, I actually prefer the panzer elite voices); two new factions surely would make the gameplay of an already very original and dynamic strategy game better, right? Well, in this case, wrong.

Basically, the game has become absolutely unbalanced. The new factions are way too strong, and using the original ones becomes useless and embarrasing (mainly because you'll get beaten by noobs using the British).

Company of Heroes was a game in which you were not allowed to spam units due to the economy system, in which the individual control of squads was vital, and taking cover was absolutely necessary. Now I ask, what's the use of cover when the British can build trenches anywhere, trenches which are, to begin practically indestructable, and provide more cover than anything else in the Battlefield.

Really, new factions don't have MGs?, well not to worry, because they have been rendered useless. New units are almost immune to pinning.

Builder units in the new factions are also outstanding soldiers, what's the deal?

British buildings can move? Sure they can.

New vehicles, units and artillery have, as I see it, crushed the balance and thus made a noob-friendly game.

What the hell were the game developers thinking when they chose the nationality of the new factions? To begin with, Germany wasn't the only country in the axis. And I don't mean any disrespect, but I think the Russians played a bigger part in the war than the British.


More information about Company of Heroes: Opposing Fronts
 
C- Revolution report card
Views: 1130 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution