More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Crysis Warhead Member Review for the PC

BigTruckSeries By:
BigTruckSeries
10/07/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE FPS 
PLAYERS 1- 16 
PUBLISHER Electronic Arts 
DEVELOPER Crytek 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood, Strong Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

I've never been happy with Crysis' graphics engine for one simple reason. Despite the fact it has the most realistic foilage and the most realistic lighting, it can't even manage to produce gore effects  on par with games like CoD4 or  Soldier of Fortune.

Why is it I can shoot these North Koreans and they drop dead and just lay their blending into the ground?  I want to be able to have my realistic environment graphics and still tear my enemies to bits with hails of gunfire.

The only thing that even seperates Crysis from Halo is the nanosuits special powers. Yes they are handles very well in the context of the game, but the rest of the game rarely makes you excited. Its like the run-of the mill Technology demonstrator they've been putting out on the PC for years.  ID SOFTWARE used to make games like this. Now they got smart and added story or depth to their titles Doom and Quake.   You've think Electronic Arts would stop producing these goreless, kiddy games and go for some hardcore mature gunplay.

Call of Duty 4 makes me smile when I kill the enemy. Crysis doesn't.

Worse yet, the exploration is nearly absent from this game. Its too linear and that really hurts its replay value. I'm also not happy with the proteagonist, Psycho, as if all the sudden British guys who use profanity are all the rave.

 

CRYSIS Warhead is a game you buy merely to test your hardware. Besides that, its not as exciting as the original and only takes 7 hours maximum to beat.

Fortunately its only $30. Otherwise, I'd feel cheated.


More information about Crysis Warhead
 
B- Revolution report card
Views: 877 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus