More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Crysis Warhead Member Review for the PC

BigTruckSeries By:
BigTruckSeries
10/07/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE FPS 
PLAYERS 1- 16 
PUBLISHER Electronic Arts 
DEVELOPER Crytek 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood, Strong Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

I've never been happy with Crysis' graphics engine for one simple reason. Despite the fact it has the most realistic foilage and the most realistic lighting, it can't even manage to produce gore effects  on par with games like CoD4 or  Soldier of Fortune.

Why is it I can shoot these North Koreans and they drop dead and just lay their blending into the ground?  I want to be able to have my realistic environment graphics and still tear my enemies to bits with hails of gunfire.

The only thing that even seperates Crysis from Halo is the nanosuits special powers. Yes they are handles very well in the context of the game, but the rest of the game rarely makes you excited. Its like the run-of the mill Technology demonstrator they've been putting out on the PC for years.  ID SOFTWARE used to make games like this. Now they got smart and added story or depth to their titles Doom and Quake.   You've think Electronic Arts would stop producing these goreless, kiddy games and go for some hardcore mature gunplay.

Call of Duty 4 makes me smile when I kill the enemy. Crysis doesn't.

Worse yet, the exploration is nearly absent from this game. Its too linear and that really hurts its replay value. I'm also not happy with the proteagonist, Psycho, as if all the sudden British guys who use profanity are all the rave.

 

CRYSIS Warhead is a game you buy merely to test your hardware. Besides that, its not as exciting as the original and only takes 7 hours maximum to beat.

Fortunately its only $30. Otherwise, I'd feel cheated.


More information about Crysis Warhead
 
B- Revolution report card
Views: 807 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution