More Reviews
REVIEWS LEGO Batman 3: Beyond Gotham Review
Batman and friends team up for another Lego adventure.

This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: Out Now

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Crysis Member Review for the PC

ohsostupid By:
ohsostupid
01/28/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE First-Person Shooter 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER Crytek 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood, Strong Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

With Great Power Comes Great Game

I’ve always been an advocate of the “Gameplay over Graphics” argument. There’s no excuse for a game to look pretty but have shoddy mechanics or a lacklustre story (Assassin’s Creed, I’m looking at you). But something about Crysis makes me think that the other side might have a point.

From the moment you jump out of the plane at the start (them’s volumetric clouds, people!) and hit the water the game never really lets up with the spectacle. About five minutes in you’re treated to one of the most beautiful sunrises ever seen in a video game. Shortly afterwards you’re pushing your way through dense jungle flora on your way to investigate Korean military activity which turns out to be something else entirely.

If the story is a little bit clichéd at least it’s easy to follow. Cutscenes (when they deign to appear at all) are all handled in the first person, and offer a decent smattering of well acted dialogue and superb motion capturing on the stunning character models. It’s not Oscar material but it is pleasantly B movie.

The gameplay doesn’t fare any better than the dialogue, and whilst that’s not necessarily a bad thing it does mean that Crysis certainly isn’t the revolutionary game it could (and perhaps should) have been. Enemy AI behaviour is subpar, and would make the game incredibly easy if it wasn’t for the fact that they all seem to be wearing lead suits. I mean really – I shot one guy seven times. In the chest. With a shotgun. From four feet.

However it doesn’t do much wrong really, it’s just that Crytek haven’t done much to build on what’s come before. By playing it safe they’ve let themselves down big time. The problem is that no single aspect of the shooting, driving or flying sections stands out as particularly ground breaking, save perhaps in the way it is presented.

Which brings me neatly back to the graphics. It cannot be stated enough how pretty the game looks. Textures are fantastic, the environments are beautiful and the havok style physics have been extrapolated to the nth degree. And the water. I know it’s the Crytek speciality but seriously, you shouldn’t be allowed to have water that looks so... wet.

Although I’ve not noticed much of a difference between the direct x 9 and 10 versions it looks good enough for me to say you definitely don’t need Vista to get the most from Crysis. But – and this is a big but – you’re definitely are going to need a powerful rig to play it.

Anything built over a year ago (unless it was state of the art then) will probably struggle. Crysis is, like the most highly strung of women, most beautiful and very, very demanding. It’s a shame, but without the fancy graphics Crysis really is just another generic shooter – average enough to warrant a play through, but nothing you’d write home about.

I think in Crysis I’ve seen the future. It’s just a shame that the rest of it is so firmly rooted in the past.

 


More information about Crysis
 
B+ Revolution report card
Views: 1306 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus