More Reviews
REVIEWS Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel Review
Borderlands: The-Prequel promises the moon, but does it even get off the ground?

The Evil Within Review
Developer Shinji Mikami wishes for the survival-horror genre. Does The Evil Within make a case?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Release date: 10/21/14

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES 7 Problems With Kingdom Hearts HD 2.5 ReMIX [Hands-on Preview]
For the last time, Aqua, NO I will not go out with you! (Yes, yes I will, actually.)

Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

Crysis Member Review for the PC

ohsostupid By:
ohsostupid
01/28/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE First-Person Shooter 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER Crytek 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood, Strong Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

With Great Power Comes Great Game

I’ve always been an advocate of the “Gameplay over Graphics” argument. There’s no excuse for a game to look pretty but have shoddy mechanics or a lacklustre story (Assassin’s Creed, I’m looking at you). But something about Crysis makes me think that the other side might have a point.

From the moment you jump out of the plane at the start (them’s volumetric clouds, people!) and hit the water the game never really lets up with the spectacle. About five minutes in you’re treated to one of the most beautiful sunrises ever seen in a video game. Shortly afterwards you’re pushing your way through dense jungle flora on your way to investigate Korean military activity which turns out to be something else entirely.

If the story is a little bit clichéd at least it’s easy to follow. Cutscenes (when they deign to appear at all) are all handled in the first person, and offer a decent smattering of well acted dialogue and superb motion capturing on the stunning character models. It’s not Oscar material but it is pleasantly B movie.

The gameplay doesn’t fare any better than the dialogue, and whilst that’s not necessarily a bad thing it does mean that Crysis certainly isn’t the revolutionary game it could (and perhaps should) have been. Enemy AI behaviour is subpar, and would make the game incredibly easy if it wasn’t for the fact that they all seem to be wearing lead suits. I mean really – I shot one guy seven times. In the chest. With a shotgun. From four feet.

However it doesn’t do much wrong really, it’s just that Crytek haven’t done much to build on what’s come before. By playing it safe they’ve let themselves down big time. The problem is that no single aspect of the shooting, driving or flying sections stands out as particularly ground breaking, save perhaps in the way it is presented.

Which brings me neatly back to the graphics. It cannot be stated enough how pretty the game looks. Textures are fantastic, the environments are beautiful and the havok style physics have been extrapolated to the nth degree. And the water. I know it’s the Crytek speciality but seriously, you shouldn’t be allowed to have water that looks so... wet.

Although I’ve not noticed much of a difference between the direct x 9 and 10 versions it looks good enough for me to say you definitely don’t need Vista to get the most from Crysis. But – and this is a big but – you’re definitely are going to need a powerful rig to play it.

Anything built over a year ago (unless it was state of the art then) will probably struggle. Crysis is, like the most highly strung of women, most beautiful and very, very demanding. It’s a shame, but without the fancy graphics Crysis really is just another generic shooter – average enough to warrant a play through, but nothing you’d write home about.

I think in Crysis I’ve seen the future. It’s just a shame that the rest of it is so firmly rooted in the past.

 


More information about Crysis
 
B+ Revolution report card
Views: 1286 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution