More Reviews
REVIEWS Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Review
Does Beyond Earth lead humanity to a better world or into a nest of aliens?

Senran Kagura Shinovi Versus Review
I had no idea there was that much silicon in Japan. But it only makes the balance that much more impressive, doesn't it?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Super Smash Bros. (Wii U) Preview
Anyone brawling at home will find plenty to love in the latest console version of Nintendo’s franchise, though amiibo figures lend a layer of ownership not seen before.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Assassin's Creed Rogue
Release date: 11/11/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

Dead Island Member Review for the PC

troznov By:
troznov
09/25/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Square Enix 
DEVELOPER Deep Silver, Techland 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Alcohol

What do these ratings mean?

I desperately wanted to enjoy this game. The premise is appealing, the combat is enjoyable, the weapons are satisfying, the open world is beautiful and expansive. Why isn't it as great as the sum of its parts?

NOTE: I never had a problem with the waypoint system. The game would display a little dotted line on the minimap to show me EXACTLY which path to take or which hill to climb. It actually worked a LOT better than most open world games. Maybe the GR reviewer had a review copy?

The aiming system tries too hard to help you, but just ends up getting in the way. While newcomers might find the autoaim system welcome (the reticule moves to the nearest limb or target), more adroit players will find it annoying. I know how to aim at a zombie's head, thanks!

If you're into co-op: it's a great buy. If you're into single player (which I am): it's too damn HARD. Most games ratchet up the difficulty from the single-player mode when multiple people are occupying the game world. Not this one. The difficulty, even in single player, is set for multiple people. I like to take my time poking and looting and enjoying the view, so I don't like to play with multiple people rushing me into the next battle. Get about a third of the way through the campaign, though, and you'll either be forced to find online assistance or just give up. It's that hard.

I completely agree with the reviewer: "I've never played a game where I've progressively cared less and less about the plot." Not only is the character development incredibly sparse, when there is a cut scene the dialogue is so wince-inducing that it's best just to mute the TV/computer screen.

A brilliant idea. I'd love to recommend it. Just don't miss the caveats above.


More information about Dead Island
 
B Revolution report card
Views: 799 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution