More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

DIRT: Colin McRae Off-Road Member Review for the PC

By:
kingoftheapex
10/09/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Racing 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Codemasters 
DEVELOPER Codemasters 
RELEASE DATE  

Overall, DIRT is a good game, but one thing keeps me from calling it a "great" game: the pace notes.  After playing the previous Colin McRae games with Nicky Grist as co-driver, it took some getting used to having a new guy with a different style of reading the notes.  To me, it makes more sense to hear what gear you should be in for the next corner before you hear which direction you need to turn.  In previous games, there is an option to change the language that the notes are read in, but not in DIRT (or maybe they are and I just can't find it, let me know if you know how).  And many times, the notes are read very late, often right before you get to the corner with no time to slow down for the blind hairpin.  This can be very frustrating, especially on Pro difficulty when every tenth of a second counts.  Other than that, very good game. 

R.I.P.  Colin McRae  --  you'll always be my hero


More information about DIRT: Colin McRae Off-Road
 
B Revolution report card
Views: 1268 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus