More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Doom 3 Member Review for the PC

By:
Richardc269
09/16/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER id 
DEVELOPER id 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Doom? Is that what this game is called? I call it another "Half-Life" game. This isn't Doom, sorry, this is absolute crap. I'll give my reasons.

#1: There are no more "levels", there's just "areas" now, just like Half-Life.

#2: The monsters look absolutely NOTHING like the originals, this is horrid. Yes, the graphics for the game are good, but that doesn't mean squat. When this game was released, I was honestly disappointed with this game because I was thinking it was going to be similar to Doom 2, but it wasn't. I prefer Doom 2 over Doom 3 any day of the year. The Hell Knight and the Baron Of Hell were my favorite monsters. The Hell Knight? In this game? Is that what it looks like? Pfft, no, it does NOT look anything like the original. HUGE disappointment.

#3: The weapons. Again, they look absolutely NOTHING like the original series, another big disappointment, I prefer the old game's weapons.

#4: The "Key Cards". What? Where? There aren't any! What in the 9 levels of hell were these creators even thinking about when making this game?! All they have are these "yellow card things" that don't even look like the original! Again, huge disappointment. I prefer having 3 differently colored Key Cards. I expected them here, but no, there aren't any.

#5: Sound is kinda disappointing. I had to turn up my speakers to hear the voices talking. Needed improvements. Yes, I know the original Doom had no voices (except for the noise he made when trying to find hidden doors).

The original Doom DID have a story-line. The story was that the UAC was messing around with teleporters, and something went horribly wrong. The teleporters screwed up and the monsters from Hell started coming through. Your main characters job was to defeat the evil on Mars in all these different levels. That was the story-line.

I'm rating this game a D+. Why? The game's absolute garbage, and I prefer the original Doom over whatever this POS is. It is such a huge disappointment, I don't even call this game Doom. I call it "crap", because that's what it is. I expected something similar to Doom, but it is not. I expected a game that would have similar gameplay to the original and of course have better graphics, but I was very disappointed in this game. The only thing I find even remotely decent are the graphics. That's all. I also expected this game to have maybe the same monsters, but just with better graphics, but that's not what we have. This game has absolutely NO variety of monsters, and those few that are named the same such as the "Imp" look absolutely nothing like the original. The Hell Knight looks nothing like the original. When I first played this game for the first hour, and I saw how much crap it was, I uninstalled it because I think it's a waste of my hard drive space, and I returned the game to the store.

I'm 27 years old, and I was a kid (I was 11) when the original Doom 1 & 2 were released. I'll play 1 & 2 over whatever crap game this is any day of the year. If they make a new Doom, I hope it's more like the original than whatever the hell this is. Disagree with me if you like, my point stands. This is absolutely NOTHING like the original, and it's nothing but a disappointment in my eyes.



More information about Doom 3
 
D+ Revolution report card
Views: 705 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus