More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Dyad Member Review for the PC

By:
Ivory_Soul
08/19/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Arcade 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER Right Square Bracket Left Square Bracket 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E What do these ratings mean?

The Good: Interesting gameplay, varied levels and objectives, fast sense of speed

The Bad: Action gets lost in the colors way too easily, all the shifting and flashing colors can made your head spin, only fun in short bursts

Dyad is a game where you...do things in a spirally tunnel. That's pretty much sums it up. You are a thing and you shoot things as the tunnel whizzes by faster and the tempo of the music picks up. Each stage has an objective such as getting through levels as fast as possible by chaining together the same colored orbs which will give you a speed boost. Running into these orbs slows you down. I felt the shooting levels were the most fun, and there are a lot of levels here so don't worry.

The biggest issue are the constantly changing colors and the sense of speed. It will make some people size or dizzy. When you're focusing on something even for a couple of minutes it will make you dizzy. There can be so many colors on screen that you get lost in the craziness and that's a serious problem. I couldn't play for long sessions because my eyes would hurt or I would get so confused that I would need a break. Thankfully the environments vary from stage to stage and the enemies get changed up.

It's not as easy as blasting everything. You need to avoid some things because if you shoot it it will hurt you. Some missions just end up being way to difficult to the point that you can barely pass the minimum requirements. This is all due to the crazy colors and the weird sense of speed. You can see your lane as far as the game will let you. At least you don't have to wait for things to come up right on you to shoot. This adds a bit of strategy as you spin around the tunnel trying to think ahead of your moves. For a while it feels pretty awesome to think on your toes and line up the perfect path for the highest score. There's really nothing much else to say here, you have to play it to see how fun it can be. This game isn't for everyone though, if you are sensitive to motion sickness and flashing colors I would stay away.

Dyad is a rare game that doesn't come around very often. While it may slip under everyone's radar for that big blockbuster title, it reminds us how the simpler games can still be fun. The action can be too hectic and can get lost it the ocean of rainbow colors swirling around the screen, but there are plenty of levels here to keep you busy and a great soundtrack to listen to.


More information about Dyad
 
Dyad
fullfullhalfemptyempty
Views: 777 Review rating:
Reviews by other members

comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution