More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Member Review for the PC

bgalin By:
bgalin
10/03/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Bethesda 
DEVELOPER Bethesda 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Language, Sexual Themes, Use of Alcohol, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

    This was the only Elder Scrolls game I've played so I didn't know what to expect.  I am a huge fan of RPG games and had high hopes for Oblivion.  The game began by giving me a quick introduction to the storyline, then allowing me to create my own character (a must have for a good RPG IMO).  After creating my character the game slowly introduced me to all of the workings of it, through a small training section integrated into the start of the game.  So far so good.  After completing this section of the game, I was fully introduced to the storyline, and released into the land of Cyrodiil to explore and (eventually) save the world from (quite literally) Oblivion.  This game had countless NPC's for the player to interact with, not to mention all the mini side-quests that were available.  This game has everything from exploring caves to buying homes.  One feature I especially liked was, when you buy a home (depending on the house) there could be display cases in the house for you to show off your priceless armor and weaponry you've picked up throughout the world.  Another thing I loved was, after saving a town from destruction, a statue of you is resurrected for all to see in the town.
    This game wasn't perfect however.  The one major flaw it had was that in order for the character to complete the main storyline, you have to be a good samaritan.  Although through side-quests with an evil faction (the Dark Brotherhood) you can become very scary to the average NPC, you still can't complete the main storyline in any evil manor.  In closing, I really enjoyed playing The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion.  It easily earns an A-, but I couldn't quite give it an A because of a few minor errors.


More information about The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
 
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution