More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Member Review for the PC

bgalin By:
bgalin
10/03/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Bethesda 
DEVELOPER Bethesda 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Language, Sexual Themes, Use of Alcohol, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

    This was the only Elder Scrolls game I've played so I didn't know what to expect.  I am a huge fan of RPG games and had high hopes for Oblivion.  The game began by giving me a quick introduction to the storyline, then allowing me to create my own character (a must have for a good RPG IMO).  After creating my character the game slowly introduced me to all of the workings of it, through a small training section integrated into the start of the game.  So far so good.  After completing this section of the game, I was fully introduced to the storyline, and released into the land of Cyrodiil to explore and (eventually) save the world from (quite literally) Oblivion.  This game had countless NPC's for the player to interact with, not to mention all the mini side-quests that were available.  This game has everything from exploring caves to buying homes.  One feature I especially liked was, when you buy a home (depending on the house) there could be display cases in the house for you to show off your priceless armor and weaponry you've picked up throughout the world.  Another thing I loved was, after saving a town from destruction, a statue of you is resurrected for all to see in the town.
    This game wasn't perfect however.  The one major flaw it had was that in order for the character to complete the main storyline, you have to be a good samaritan.  Although through side-quests with an evil faction (the Dark Brotherhood) you can become very scary to the average NPC, you still can't complete the main storyline in any evil manor.  In closing, I really enjoyed playing The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion.  It easily earns an A-, but I couldn't quite give it an A because of a few minor errors.


More information about The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
 
comments powered by Disqus