More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Member Review for the PC

By:
keithburgun
04/06/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Bethesda 
DEVELOPER Bethesda 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Language, Sexual Themes, Use of Alcohol, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Has everyone seriously gone mad?  This game is a PILE OF CRAP design-wise.  PILE   OF   CRAP.   Morrowind was a hundred times better and Morrowind was FAR from perfect.  Let me just go down the list of what's HORRIBLY WRONG with this game:

1.  Monsters auto-levelling up with your hero - WHATS THE POINT OF GETTING LEVELS THEN?

2.  Equipment levelling up - In the beginning of the game, glass and daedric armor exists NOWHERE, by the end, even bandits and stuff have full glass armor.  How can I role play with this?  Why don't the bandits just sell their glass armor and live like kings?

3.  Persuasion system - no explanation needed here.  This just shows an utter lack of consideration for role players and an utter lack of understanding about game design.

4.  Fast Travel - Hey I know let's create a huge world and then just let the players teleport around instantly free of cost from anywhere, even to cities they haven't been to yet.  Oh well so much for adventure.

5.  Horseback riding - if they weren't taking it seriously they just shouldnt have put it in.  Retarded, worst horseback riding in any game.

6.  Compass - FOLLOW GREEN ARROW.  ON ARRIVAL, CLICK ON THE THING THATS THERE.  [REPEAT]  A bot could play this stupid game

7.  Voice acting - 12 shitty un-directed voice actors spamming bogus writing over 1000 npcs.  Great idea you MORONS.  There's nothing wrong with text, but there's a lot wrong with SHITTY voice acting.

I can go on and on and on.  This game has NO consideration for those who want to roleplay, they chose technology over design over and over again (for example taking out Jump and Levitate so that they could make these elaborate towns that have to pre-load), and I seriously am just insulted by this game.  You might as well play WOW offline.  It has better animations, art, writing, gameplay.  What a shame that these idiot nerds got their claws on the license for Fallout 3.

I will say, if you have never played an RPG before, this game could be enjoyable.  It's pretty to look at, and does a decent enough job creating the illusion of depth for unseasoned players.


More information about The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
 
comments powered by Disqus