More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Final Fantasy VIII Member Review for the PC

By:
drizzt908
04/04/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Electronic Arts 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Animated Violence, Mild Language, Suggestive Themes

What do these ratings mean?

Turn left on Junction 666

Ahh, another Final Fantasy dutifully delivered by the folks of Square Soft.  Let's indulge ourself in the game, shall we?

*Tries to figure out how stats work* :0

As I gaze mindlessly for the first time at what is known as the junction system, I tell myself, WTF?  But as I play the game, and acquaint myself with it, I think it is the best system.  It is very easy to overhaul your characters through your Summons (called GFs or Guardian Forces) abilities.  For example, you have a tent.  Nice tent!  You want magic for it, so use your GFs abilities to change your tent into 10 curagas, a very powerful healing magic.  Add it to your HP junction, and at level 1, you have 3000 HP!

It is through methods like this that make the game a little easy and repetitive.  The main way to acquire magic is Drawing it from enemies, sort of like stealing their magic.  They have infinite magic to steal, so at the begining of the game, you find a weak enemy and just overhaul on magic.  Or just put the enemy to sleep.  Or Stop them, or slow them, there are many ways.

However, the game has many side quests, albeit many are for powerful GFs, like Jumbo Cactuar, Tonberry King, or the most powerful Eden (he looks like a UFO).

One bad thing about the game is the weapon system.  You do not buy weapons, you acquire the parts for them, and a junk shop dealer (wtf?) puts it together for you.  But before that, you need to read a magazine to know that it exists before the junk shop dealer puts it together.  Also, you do not find Gil in the world.  Through many actions, your SeeD level increases or decreases.  The higher, the more Gil you get every 1000 steps or so.  There are no chests to find, and the only way to acquire items, is through stealing, which takes a long time, or buying them, a bad inconveniance. 

Squaresoft wanted to make the game more realistic, and they succeeded.  However, through their efforts at realism, they forgot an important aspect of an RPG.  We like to win things, find things, steal things from people.  And if you have no life like me, you have 3000 HP right at the begining of the game, making it too easy.  Good try, Square, but you get a B.


More information about Final Fantasy VIII
 
B Revolution report card
Views: 901 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus