More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Freelancer Update Member Review for the PC

One By:
One
11/18/05
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Adventure 
PLAYERS 00 
PUBLISHER Microsoft 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE Out Now

Most things have a certain amount of time a person can play with them, until they become repetitive and boring. For example, a man can play with himself for maybe an hour, before it gets boring. But a man can play with a woman until he dies. Which is where Freelancer begins to fail... they forgot to include a woman.



Freelancer at first is very exciting, you are stunned by the graphics and the lovely voice acting, and you hope against all hope that it will continue throughout the entire game. But it doesn't. You are basically repeating the same thing time and time again until you finish the game about 2 hours later. Did I mention this game is short? And although when playing with yourself you know when you have finished, this game has no ending. You can continue playing forever. Finish all the missions and the game is over. Nothing new appears!



I guess I could explain how the game works. You follow a very linear game path, with an alternating pattern of accepting work until you gain a level, then proceding with the story for one level. I must admit that the story is the only thing that kept me going through the game. I would compare it to having someone stab you in the eye with a nail, whilst telling you an intrigueing story. You may want the pain in your eye to go away, but if it does the story will stop. So MicroSoft did one thing right.



This game is awful and I would not recommend buying it, unless you enjoy spending hours flying through the universe for petty things. Although you think the game is good at first, you will realise the game is not worth your time after a little while. Save yourself the trouble to begin with, and do not fall into this trap.


More information about Freelancer Update
 
D+ Revolution report card
Views: 1426 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus