More Reviews
REVIEWS Dead Rising 3 PC Review
Hack ‘n’ slash if you want.

THEATRHYTHM FINAL FANTASY CURTAI Review
Take some of the greatest tunes Square Enix has ever produced, weave them through an interesting rhythm system with a couple famous, friendly faces, then make it portable. What could possibly go wrong?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Invisible, Inc. Preview
The makers of Don’t Starve and Mark of the Ninja head into uncharted territory (again).
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Gothic 3 Member Review for the PC

Caped_Crusader By:
Caped_Crusader
12/25/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Aspyr 
DEVELOPER Piranha Bytes 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Blood and Gore, Language, Sexual Themes, Use of Drugs, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

The main problem with this game is that it looks unfinished, rushed and occasionally unbalanced. Add some bad programming and you're guaranteed to get bad scores from the reviews as is GR's D, even though the review itself  didn't sound that bad.
Yes, combat can be frustrating, less RAM - bigger loading times and more lag, ridiculous dying screams that the main character makes are good examples why this game sucks.  That's why it deserves all the bad critic it has got so far.

But, as strange it may seem, despite all of the technical problems, I still find it much more interesting and atmospheric than Oblivion ever was. Excellent music, no useless skills and classes - only one main character that you can develop,  great sense of exploration. Even though combat is very raw and simplistic, there''s still a certain tension in killing those disgusting ceeatures because you don't know how it's going to end.
Since I saw the first screenshots about a year ago it looked like a very promising title but unfortunately something went wrong - apparently developers ran out of time and the publisher was just too tired of endless waiting.

Not an A, and not as high-quality to deserve a B either, so to me, C+ sounds fair enough.


More information about Gothic 3
 
C+ Revolution report card
Views: 1606 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution