More Reviews
REVIEWS Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel Review
Borderlands: The-Prequel promises the moon, but does it even get off the ground?

The Evil Within Review
Developer Shinji Mikami wishes for the survival-horror genre. Does The Evil Within make a case?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Release date: 10/21/14

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES 7 Problems With Kingdom Hearts HD 2.5 ReMIX [Hands-on Preview]
For the last time, Aqua, NO I will not go out with you! (Yes, yes I will, actually.)

Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

Gothic 3 Member Review for the PC

Caped_Crusader By:
Caped_Crusader
12/25/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Aspyr 
DEVELOPER Piranha Bytes 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Blood and Gore, Language, Sexual Themes, Use of Drugs, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

The main problem with this game is that it looks unfinished, rushed and occasionally unbalanced. Add some bad programming and you're guaranteed to get bad scores from the reviews as is GR's D, even though the review itself  didn't sound that bad.
Yes, combat can be frustrating, less RAM - bigger loading times and more lag, ridiculous dying screams that the main character makes are good examples why this game sucks.  That's why it deserves all the bad critic it has got so far.

But, as strange it may seem, despite all of the technical problems, I still find it much more interesting and atmospheric than Oblivion ever was. Excellent music, no useless skills and classes - only one main character that you can develop,  great sense of exploration. Even though combat is very raw and simplistic, there''s still a certain tension in killing those disgusting ceeatures because you don't know how it's going to end.
Since I saw the first screenshots about a year ago it looked like a very promising title but unfortunately something went wrong - apparently developers ran out of time and the publisher was just too tired of endless waiting.

Not an A, and not as high-quality to deserve a B either, so to me, C+ sounds fair enough.


More information about Gothic 3
 
C+ Revolution report card
Views: 1641 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution