More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Guitar Rising Member Review for the PC

vishnusa By:
vishnusa
06/04/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Rhythm 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER GameTank 
DEVELOPER GameTank 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

Last week at the GDC I got a chance to go hands-on with the new GameTank game for PC, Guitar Rising. If you haven’t heard about this game yet, here’s the skinny.

You know how Rock Band makes you feel like a bad-ass by living out the fantasy of being a spandex-clad rock and roller?

Well, Guitar Rising looks to try to actually turn you into that bad-ass riff-master you always wanted to be.

Do you know about tablature (“tab” for short)? It’s a form of sheet music which has a line for each string and uses numbers on each line to represent a fret board on a guitar.  It’s a very basic form of music translation that is easy enough for even a beginning player to pick up and read. It loses some of the nuances of real sheet music but it gets the point across.

Rising combines tab with a Guitar Hero like interface that’s controlled with a guitar. That’s right, a real, honest to goodness guitar. You plug in your axe through a ¼ inch port (most likely external) going to a PC and get to thrashing. 

How many times have you said heard someone say, ”in all that time spent playing rhythm games you could just learn to play a real instrument.” Well, it’s time for all those wannabes out there to put their money where their mouths are. You gonna rock like Trent Reznor or Van Halen? It’s up to you now.


More information about Guitar Rising
 
B+ Revolution report card
Views: 784 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution