More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Half-Life Member Review for the PC

By:
_sic_
07/24/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 32- 32 
PUBLISHER Sierra 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Animated Blood, Animated Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Catch Me Later and I'll Buy You A Beer

Half-Life. Legend. Legacy...It's all good. Half-Life is the combination of the Quake 1+2 engines highly modified to create Half-Life. In 1998 it was released. In 1998 it dominated the First Person World.

Guess What? It still does. You are Gordon Freeman. A resonance cascade has just occured. Ripping dimensional and allowing an Alien race to enter. Gordon wakes up, and looks around to find the Black Mesa Research Facility in pieces. Bodys of scientists lye on the ground as Gordon fights his way through aliens, Hazardous Environment Combat Unit (soldiers) and watched/observed by a mysterious man in a blue suit. Also known as G-Man which possibly stands for Government Man.

Around the time of the release of Half-Life. Games did not have spectacular graphics as Half-Life did. It contained lighting that had never been seen in a game like Unreal. The story is more than you think. Though the game contains absolutly no cut-scenes. It does not require them.

Though throughout the game you will encounter the exact same Barney Calhoun (secuirity guards) and about 5 variations of scientists. And when you do encounter Barney he often states "Catch Me Later and I'll buy you a beer". So whenever you see him, he owes you another beer.

So thats about 230 beers that Barney owes Gordon. But seriously, if you don't like playing old-school games like Half-Life 1. Go get Half-Life 2. Its just as good. Except in the storyline, you will have no idea in what the hell is going on.

You can also wait for Black Mesa (Source). It is a mod for Half-Life 2's Souce engine to recreate Half-Life 1. There are heaps of unique scientists and guards. In Half-Life 1, you are only meant to see the real Barney Calhoun the one time. (At the start on the tram. He is banging on a door). In Black Mesa (Source) you see him one time and thats it.

But if you compare some of the screenshots of a level in BM(S) and Half-Life 1. Well... lets just say Black Mesa (Source) looks awesome.

Overall this game rocks. Even for an oldie.

The FPS of all FPS's.

A
+Great Story
+Great FPS
+Requires A brain
+Very Fun
-I seen Barney the guard 150 times
-I seen that same damn scientist before

For more info on Black Mesa Souce mod go to:
Official Site
For lots of screenshots and features of BM(S)
ModDB

More information about Half-Life
 
A Revolution report card
Views: 1652 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution