More Reviews
REVIEWS Boo Bunny Plague Review
If you think you can enjoy the definition of budget game design, this one might make you laugh.

Minimum Review
With so many shooters crowding the marketplace, it’s refreshing to see Minimum take the low-fi route through Steam Early Access.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES PS4's Until Dawn Scared Me Out of My Headphones - TGS Hands-On, Headset-Off Preview
Hopefully it doesn't keep me awake... for the whole night!

NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

The Matrix: Path Of Neo Member Review for the PC

Mortel3 By:
Mortel3
03/27/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER  
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Blood, Language, Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

If there are images in this attachment, they will not be displayed. Download the original attachment
The Matrix: Path Of Neo - PC


By Mortel3



I will start by naming a glitch that happened before the game even began. In a recent press release, developers stated "Where Neo failed, you can succeed", but in the manual it states "Where Neo succeeded, you must succeed". - Silly mistakes like this are what makes up the game itself. Sure, its pretty poetic, but contradictions and unfulfilled promises happen all too often for this to be a PC worthy game.

The game is basically made up of the following: The movie's plot, random extra plots, removal of some actual plot, and then some plot that just makes no sense. They tried to make it a movie based game with something extra, but failed terribly.

The controls, for instance, could have been so much simpler. Its hard to describe how much of an urge you can get to set fire to the game, screaming "control that, demon-game!!". But customisation of controls will do nicely for the moment. They are truly complicated.

The graphics, well, I have to admit, are an occasional distraction from the poor storyline. Its a good thing the developers managed to create an engine that can simulate the 100's of Agent Smith copies, or this game would have no redeeming value whatsoever. Things like the movie cut-scenes clue you in to the occasionally confusing story, bringing you up to speed with the game (providing you've seen the movies).

The sad thing is, the Machowski Brothers approved a terribly flawed game in "Enter the Matrix", and here is pretty much the same thing, just different characters. It would be so much better if you could choose your own destiny around every corner, but no, the word "Path" means just that: a narrow road to your pre-determined destination. If you die? Restart from checkpoint. If you fail to save your woman? You don't get to go on a rampage of revenge, you just have to restart and try again.

I'm trying to find the good in this game, I really am. The only thing I could possibly think of that is remotely a redeeming feature is the re-enaction of the battle scenes from the movies, and the awesome moves you can perform (given adequate button-bashing). Other than that, there's not much.

Camera angles are another issue. Back in the days of Ps1, even then they had an option to control the camera in case it was in a bad position. But not with Path of Neo, no. Cameras get stuck in walls, not focused on the right enemy, and can cause some serious frustration. And, as I stated before, the battle sequences require a lot of button bashing, almost enough to make you want to buy a gamepad. You COULD buy a gamepad, if it supported one. But no, developers didn't think of that either, and when I plugged my gamepad in, the Game recognised the buttons as "Mouse Wheel", which didn't help much.

To conclude, if you are a die-hard Neo fan, then you may get some enjoyment from controlling Keanu's every move. But if you are NOT a Neo fan, then run. Fast.


Mortel3's Rating:

Good battles, cool moves.

Clipping issues, camera issues, lots of bugs, tutorial levels can't be skipped (last for a long, long time.)


4.5/10


--

<>
I write game reviews for a clan gaming website (opening april9) check them out here: www.crystalinferno.com

More information about The Matrix: Path Of Neo
 
D+ Revolution report card
Views: 1247 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution