More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

The Movies Member Review for the PC

By:
Cody41393
02/25/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sim 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER Lionhead 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T What do these ratings mean?

Well, let me be quite honest. This is by far, the best game I've ever played on computer.  It seems like a worthless game at first, but in sandbox mode, it's fun, and I can't stop playing it.

The first tagline says, Run the Studio. Running the Studio is great. Build anything from hot dog venders, to colossal space ship sets. The size does not matter. Also, once you hire the stars, they begin to run around and do crazy things, like get drunk, and get into such scandals as drug, alcohol, or even sex scandals. However, the movement is horrible! It takes forever just to drag something your camera view around. It's gets friggin' hopeless...

The second tagline says Shoot the Movies. Shooting Movies is all this game is about. Shoot anything from a gorey death, or a high-speed car jump across a canyon. If you like makin' hot rod movies, this is the game for you. However, the scenes seem like they need explaining, because it just doesn't seem like they run together very well, and the motion the stars make is just repetitive. Overall, this "Movie making" deal, is awesome, but it could use a little more work.

The final tagline reads Make the Stars. Making Stars is hard in the regular campaign. In the regular story, you start with $150,000, but it costs at least double that to actually make all the sets you need to make your first movie. I'm serious. In the campaign mode, you start with the Stage School, and the Job hiring office. That's it!! The sandbox mode is much better. You can choose how many stars you want, how much money you want to start out with (anything from $10,000 to $100,000,000). Overall the sandbox mode is the best part.

All in all, this games pretty awesome. It's fun, and it certainly let's your imagination run wild with ideas. It's like Hollywood is downloaded directly into you CD drive!!


More information about The Movies
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 841 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus