More Reviews
REVIEWS This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.

LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

The Movies Member Review for the PC

By:
samuelh73
03/07/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sim 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER Lionhead 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T What do these ratings mean?

I must concur with the main review of this game, but I felt the need to add a few things about the game itself:

1.  The game manual sucked.  It was incredibly difficult to understand, and it really didn't give you that much information.  It took me about 45 minutes to figure out how to demolish buildings(in this game you sell the buildings, which is actually better than most games!).  A manual (or a better in-game tutorial) would have been extremely helpful.

2.  You get a few people at your gates who want to become actors, crew, etc...Then nothing.  Nada.  Zip.  After playing 10 game years, I got ONE additional person, and even then only because I happened to look at the gates and he was about to leave.  Having a few more people (or an increased rate of appearance) would have been much easier; otherwise it becomes largely a game of resource management, but one that isn't as profitable (or pleasant or easy) as, say, Starcraft or Supreme Commander.

3.  What is the deal with the "push and hold the left mouse button to pick up a person" thing?  Was it impossible for them to do it another way?  Numerous times I would sit there, clicking and holding, then grumble (and eventually curse) because they were walking away, and did so before I could hold onto them.

4.  I am not a director, producer, crewman or even an actor; heck, the closest to Hollywood I've ever been was on stage during my high school years.  Even with my utter lack of knowledge about the technical side of movies, I know some basics.  The initial movies your director makes are insufferable pieces of "WTF?".  The continuity on some of them left me scratching my head, wondering what the heck was going on.

For all the negative points of the game, I also have to say that the positive points are quite tasty.  It is quite nice to look at, the music puts one in the mood immediately and the appearance of it fits the style and genre.  Yes, the sets are huge and cumbersome and difficult to place nearby, but so it is in real life.  The stars do seem to be a little prone to addition and vice than normal (whatever happened to the Hugh Cronyns or the Jessica Tandys of the acting world?), and you do have to be proficient at sucking up to them, even if it hurts (I gave my stressed out, alcoholic, D-list actor a flunky and he was ecstatic, but it cost me a precious crew member).

All in all, it is a decent game, and one I didn't mind purchasing (I purchased it at a second-hand book store, so it was cheap, cheap, cheap!).  I will continue to play it, even though I feel a star-sized temper-tantrum coming on at times.


More information about The Movies
 
B Revolution report card
Views: 787 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus