More Reviews
REVIEWS Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Review
Does Beyond Earth lead humanity to a better world or into a nest of aliens?

Screencheat Review
The first FPS in history where looking at your friends’ screens isn’t cheating; it’s a requirement.
More Previews
PREVIEWS NHL 2K Preview
NHL 2K has a timely return on mobile devices for your on-the-go hockey fix.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Release date: Out Now

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

Murdered: Soul Suspect Member Review for the PC

By:
Ivory_Soul
07/07/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Square Enix 
DEVELOPER Airtight Games 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood, Intense Violence, Strong Language, Use of Alcohol

What do these ratings mean?

The Good: Great story with twists and turns, interesting ghost mechanics

The Bad: Dated visuals and gameplay, combat with demons feels shoehorned and unnecessary, can't really connect with characters, open world is lifeless and boring, investigations feel like aimless pixel hunts

I haven't been so misled by a game than Murdered. A murder mystery game about a cult in Salem, Massachusetts (my favorite type of murder mysteries) all wrapped around a serial killer known as the Bell Killer. You play as a ghost detective named Ronan who gets murdered by this killer during an investigation. You have a bratty teen named Joy who helps you in the real world and the story all comes to a nice close at the very end.

It's everything in between that really disappoints. This game not only feels about 10 years old but is some times down right boring. In each area you have items that need to be "examined" this turns into pixel hunting like the adventure games of yore. Some times I found myself to frustrated because the examine button wouldn't come up unless you were facing it just the right way, that's glitchy and annoying. Once you find all clues in an area you conclude the investigation by picking three of the clues that relate to the scene. This is where some of the nonsense gameplay comes in to play. Most of the time you don't even need all the clues to conclude and most clues are pointless for the scene. I feel like I'm hunting for all these clues as just filler for gameplay.

Is there any combat? Not really. A shoehorned combat scenario was put in by sneaking around demons and executing them with weird button combos. Sneaking around them is pretty tense, as is running from them. But was this merely an excuse to be able to die in the game to call it a full on game? The only other way I died in the game was getting hit by a ghost train in one area. There's also an open world which is boring and lifeless. The game is also full of items to find which is archaic and just plain boring. Why would I run around in an empty boring world finding items I could care less about?

There are actually rules to this game though. Just because you're a ghost you can't walk through everything otherwise you'd be clipping into gaming abyss. Most items can't be walked through and ones that can't have a blue aura around them. You can teleport yourself which only comes in handy for a few parts of the game. You can possess people to read their minds or influence them during an investigation. This isn't nearly as cool as it should be.

The only thing that kept me going was the story. The twists and turns were just interesting enough to make you think you figured it out and then it turns out to be something else. The game actually has a satisfying ending with no cliffhanger. When I played through this whole game I just couldn't help but feel how dated it looked and played. The graphics, while not ugly, are simple and boring. This game would have looked amazing about 5 years ago. I also didn't feel an attachment to any characters because of how boring and cookie cutter they felt. Ronan is just your typical New England cop, Joy is a snotty goth brat, and the other characters don't really show up enough for you to care about them. Soul Suspect had a lot of potential but in the end it felt like there wasn't really a goal of what to do outside of the story.

If you're a fan of adventure games I would give this a shot. Murdered isn't going to revolutionized the nearly forgotten point and click adventure style gameplay, but it is worth slogging through the gameplay for the interesting story.


More information about Murdered: Soul Suspect
 
Murdered: Soul Suspect
fullhalfemptyemptyempty
Views: 693 Review rating:
Reviews by other members

comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution