More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Neverwinter Nights 2 Member Review for the PC

GynerJuice By:
GynerJuice
07/06/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Atari 
DEVELOPER Obsidian 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Alcohol Reference, Blood, Mild Language, Sexual Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

NWN 1 I have always held it high as one of the greatest games I have ever played; good story line, challenging, dragons, from the makers of D&D. When I heard that NWN 2 was going to be released I almost sh it my pants, needless to say that when I got the game I was a little disappointed with how much my computers video card sucks ass, but a good time playing it anyways.

The first thing that caught my eye in this game was the amount of character classes you can choose from, and the amount of prestige classes that you can specialize in the game. My first character that I made was a blackguard cause their cooo. Was very disappointed with the rogue class, I found that they had sh it dps, and my main character had so much str and con that it didn’t matter if I hit a trap that took off 8hp or a locked door that I can easily break down, also I found that the rogue died every fight so I stopped wasting heals on her so I kicked her out of the group.

The group system came straight out of Galdurs Gate (kick ass game that I played till my eyes bled) and I found that it suited the game perfectly, was not impressed at all with the AI in the groups, my cleric for example would use level 8-9 spells on shitty monsters that could be easily defeated, and If you play this game to the last level were you cannot rest (regain spells) it becomes a pain in the ass when she heals herself with a regeneration spell when she only lost 30hp. I understand that I could take puppet control off, but I only directly control my characters on a scripted event/boss fight. The characters also had a hard time keeping up to my main character, there was many occasions where I had to stop and wait for that god dam construct or dwarf to catch up to me.

Many people found the camera control frustrating, but once you start to really get into this game I found controlling the camera became 2nd nature to me and had little or no problem with it (playing a lot of mmorpgs have given me this edge with the camera) The camera for the cut screens was sh it and I found it required better AI, I don’t no how many countless times one of my party members would stand in front of the camera and I ended up having to look at a tower shield for the whole thing. Other then that the voice acting was great except Aldonna (or what ever his name was) I just wanted to knock him out.

 The game play is where this game really shines, the cooo swinging of fiery swords and having mages fire meteors out of the sky with stunning graphics will make you play this game well into the night, I can’t count how much sleep I lost because of it. The audio for spells and spell-like abilities were ripped out of the original game, didn’t mind it to much and I actually enjoyed hearing the old sounds since I haven’t played the first neverwinter in so long. Like I said before my video card is sh it but the characters still looked great, and even if the game was a little laggy at times it was still good times. Boss fights in this game where for the most part easily defeated, except that god damn red dragon you have to fight on the fire giant mountain, holy sh it I think it took me 2 hours to finally kill the bi itc h, and if u even lost one member your pretty much f u cked over, didn’t kill the end boss yet almost at him, I think any other 20min and I should be at him (those elite vampires own face, especially when there is like 8 of them)

Overall great game exactly what I would expect from bioware and had a crap load of fun playing the game. I believe that it lived up to original (in no way I think it bested the original) but if your D&D fanatic and you were a fan of the first NWN you will not be disappointed in this game at all.


More information about Neverwinter Nights 2
 
B+ Revolution report card
Views: 1233 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus